The Writing Process Blog Hop

There’s nothing more interesting than how humans think, especially writers. In my opinion, writers have this captivating way of thinking and processing and each person is just so unique in how they do what they do.

I saw this blog hop on a few of my favourite writer friends blogs. I loved reading each of their unique posts on their process, and thought it would be fun to participate.

When I was tagged by the wonderful and talented Tracie Puckett, I may or may not have done this ridiculous fist pump. I’m going to tag Sarah Fader, another fantastic writer. Her work is humorous and never fails to make me smile!

This blog hop is about our current work in progress, why our work is different from others, and why we write what we write. A good yet short look at the writers mind. What I love about it is that every answer is different.

What am I working on right now?

I’ve finished my first novel, Collide. I am working on finding an editor to work with me and get it published. I’m sending out query letters like there’s no tomorrow. My manuscript is done and patiently awaiting the one.

I’m also working on the sequel to Collide, but the characters this time around are being stubborn and insisting on taking an entirely different path than I originally planned on. I’m more or less a pantser, I do go in with a general idea but situations happen, characters change their minds, and new people are introduced.

Writers really have no control!

How does my work differ from others of it’s genre?

I write a cross between new adult and romantic suspense. I write what I know, and I “know” the new adult age group. I love romance books, but I love grit and drama to it. I get bored by just a love story. My first book, Collide, focuses on a student/teacher romance, as well as a heavy town secret and coverup that Harlow is determined to expose.

I write characters that are imperfect and real. My characters tend to be stubborn, sarcastic, and lively, Harlow (from Collide) especially. She’s had a rough go in life, but is determined to not let that define her. She’s determined to stay strong and unbreakable, and bring her enemies to their knees. She’s still young, and she still makes plenty of mistakes. But mistakes make you real.

Why Do I Write What I Do?

I write what I do because the characters speak to me. Harlow spoke to me, telling me her story and insisting I write it all down.

I write about the topics I write about because they are very real and scary parts of our world that often get “swept under the rug”. I don’t want these things getting swept under the rug any more, I want people to know they can fight, kicking and screaming until justice is had. I believe in Karma so I write that each person gets what they deserve.

How does my writing process work?

It starts out with an idea, a sentence. Then it flows from there into painting a picture with my words about that time or place, that character or situation. I am, more or less, a pantser. I write from the seat of my pants. I try to plot out by the chapter what’s going to happen, but very rarely does that work for me. Just like real life! Nothing goes according to plan.

I write with fevered intensity. Then I go back and read it. Then I edit it, edit it again,  read it once more and send it to some testers. I ask them their opinions and once I have a general idea how it’s received, I start the query process.

I don’t have a particular time that I’m more inspired to write. I have two boys (nearly 5 and 2 years old), and my day is pretty chaotic. I basically write when I can get a few minutes to myself. Usually, it’s at night time.

There’s no right or wrong way to write…check out all the different processes these writers use:

Audra North
A L Parks
Alexandra Haughton
Petra Grayson
Jeanne Hardt
Madi Merek
Rebecca Grace Allen
Amy Jo Cousins
Lore Ree
Julia Kelly
Alexis Anne
Mary Chris Escobar
Lashell Collins
Elizabeth Barone
Tracie Puckett

You’re up, Sarah Fader!

Edit to add: Sarah has finished her post!

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in blog hops, blogging, words, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Writing Process Blog Hop

  1. deepbluesandseafoamgreens says:

    Oh my WOW!! Loved this post.
    I am seriously intrigued by the sound of your novel…I like how you appreciate not only just a little love story, but something..more…ah I can’t find the word. Developed? Pleasantly twisted? Amazing!
    Gosh, I do hope it gets published! Sorry if this has already been addressed, but is there any further information about your book on your blog?
    I’m going to go have a scroll, but if there’s anything, do tell! 🙂

  2. Love reading bout everyone’s process! 🙂 Best of luck on querying!

    • Jess says:

      Thank you! 🙂 I’ve loved reading everyone’s process too. Makes me feel better – I used to think I was doing “this” wrong when there is no right or wrong 🙂

  3. Great job! I love the description of starting with a sentence and then painting a picture with your words from there. Pantsers unite!

  4. Pingback: the writing process | tp

  5. I kind of fist pumped when I read your “why” part. Yay for standing out! I really love Collide specifically because Harlow is so different. She cracks me up.

  6. Pingback: The Writing Process Blog Hop | The Stigma Fighters

  7. Pingback: The Writing Process Blog Hop | Old School/New School Mom

Leave a comment