Unreasonable

I am often told I have unreasonable expectations. I used to let those words defeat me, I used to let them cause doubt to take root in my mind and heart. I used to think that maybe I do have unreasonable expectations….but, I do not.

I hold myself up to the same expectations. Yes, I do a lot…but I could do more. I could improve. As a business owner, a writer, a mother, a wife, a friend and a sister…I could improve. There’s nothing wrong with acknowledging that, and it should come as no surprise that I have similar expectations for other people in my life.

I am all about growth. Each day I strive to grow more, even if it scares me. And I want everyone around me to do the same thing…and why shouldn’t I want that? Why shouldn’t we all want that?

IMG_0126

I may not be the nicest person, but I still strive to have a kind heart and kind thoughts. I strive to be nice, even to people who really make it hard. I try to tell myself that they need kindness more than someone who makes it easy. Do I always succeed? Hell no…but I try.

IMG_0127

Doubt, resentment and hatred can spread like dandelion weeds, infecting everything so I try my hardest to spread kindness instead. The world needs more kindness and compassion. I need more kindness and compassion. I need accountability and dependability, so I try to be all those things and more.

IMG_0130

Sometimes, the truth hurts and hearing that we’ve done something shitty that’s hurt someone else makes us angry because the majority of the world doesn’t seem to process their feelings correctly. Anger shouldn’t happen when someone tells you that you’ve upset them or let them down. That’s not taking accountability for it, that’s passing the buck off to someone else instead of saying sorry. Yeah, sometimes I fail that test in the moment, but I always go back and apologize after stating what I did wrong and how I reacted wrong. That’s called accountability. You don’t need to be perfect but you have to make a conscious effort.

And I expect the same from those I surround myself with. That doesn’t make me unreasonable at all.

If you feel that I am unreasonable for expecting growth from you, then maybe you should look in the mirror and ask yourself…who’s really being unreasonable?

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

