Damaged Goods: Updates & Reflections

I’ve learned a lot about myself during this self publishing experience. I am not a fan formatting or editing. In fact, I hate those parts. Maybe it’s my [extremely old] computer, or maybe it just doesn’t click with me. Especially when it comes to formatting. Formatting on my current computer is like shoving bamboo splinters under my nails. Editing makes me feel like a kid in school again, with five minutes to go before the bell rings and schools out for summer. Editing makes me feel antsy and restless. I get distracted so easily and spend more time googling funny author memes about editing than I do actually editing.

So, attention span, computer…my own lack of knowledge or patience with said computer…Whatever the reason, those are the parts I least enjoy about writing and self publishing. Which is precisely why I refer to my first drafts as mucus plugs (and likely why I have 500 author memes saved on my computer).

I knew with Damaged Goods and Reckless Abandon that I wanted things to happen differently. I published Collide and Consumed way too quickly and I’ll be the first person to admit that. I was just excited. I also posted pictures of my kids right from the womb, so, you know. I guess I just get excited about things that I’ve made and want to share them immediately with everyone else.

Even when they should probably be cleaned up a little first.

Those issues could have been solved by me paying for a cover designer/formatter and extra sets of eyes for editing, but I’ll be honest…I couldn’t afford to do that. It’s not an excuse by any means, I over shot my own ability to do those things and fell short.

So, back to how I wanted things to happen differently this time around…

I submitted my novels to Booktrope and they accepted them. I am now working with a team to bring them to print. I have a book manager, a project manager, an editor and a proofreader, and a cover designer. Which means I won’t have to worry about the pressure of doing those things completely by myself when (let’s face it), I’d much rather spend the time writing more novels. Or, you know, discovering more hilarious memes.

This means that my original intent of publishing this spring isn’t going to happen because I need to allow myself and my team more time to make sure everything is perfect. Good things are worth the wait, even damaged good things (see what I did there?).

IMG_0207

Damaged Goods will be coming fall 2015. When it does come, everything will be perfect and it will be available in paperback right away.

Booktrope will also be republishing Collide and Consumed and getting them in paperback format. I’m super excited about that as well!

IMG_0209

Now happy Sunday, all! I’m gonna go take advantage of the crazy chocolate sales today.

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

