A Harrowing Experience

I’m probably going to feel a little ridiculous for admitting this…but I can’t drive in snow.

When I say that, I don’t mean that I can’t actually drive…I don’t mean that I am one of those people that does like 5 miles per hour down the highway. What I mean is that driving in the snow makes me have anxiety attacks. Some days I have no choice but to grit my teeth and bear it, like yesterday.

I was running late. I had to get my older son to the bus stop for 8:26am, and then make it to an appointment for my other son at 9am. We were late leaving the house and scrapping the ice off the truck took longer than I expected. Probably because I couldn’t actually reach the middle of the windshield.

I had three minutes to make it to the bus stop. Normally not an issue, the drive takes one minute if that. I started driving down our road…which is very narrow, for the record. So narrow that two cars driving down it in opposite directions cannot get past each other even when the snow banks aren’t piled high.

I was nearly at the stop sign when a red van pulled onto our road. She saw me and motioned to the person on her right (coming down the opposite way from the road that she came from) that she was going to back up so that I could get out. I couldn’t see this person as they were fair enough down the road that they were obscured by a house.

She backs out and I start to drive, only to have a massive snow plow speed up onto our road. It was the person she had motioned to, and he didn’t give a shit about what we were trying to do there. He blocked the rest of the road and just stared at me.

IMG_0150

Now I drive a huge Dodge truck, and there wasn’t anywhere for me to go but backwards. In a huge truck. On a snowy, narrow street. With a snow plow coming at me. Remember how driving in snow makes me anxious? Like really anxious? Well…imagine how driving in snow backwards with a snow plow coming at me makes me feel.

IMG_0149

I was a shaking mess by the time the snow plow got off my street and the red van disappeared, and I’d missed the bus completely because that three minutes was wasted backing up and waiting for everyone to get off the road. And it pissed me off a lot. I was nearly at the damn stop sign! The snow plow driver could have waited less than two seconds for me to vacate the road.

And the snow plow driver was laughing at me. Which made me cry because I was anxious and shaking about driving backwards in the snow with a snow plow coming at me. And he laughed at me.

I had to cancel my younger sons appointment because there was no way I’d be able to drop my older son off for 9am and make it half an hour away for 9am. I haven’t mastered the whole be in two places thing yet.

I seem to have the luck of running into all the asshole snow plow drivers. It’s like a major qualification to be a snow plow driver is that you must be an asshole.

So, that was my harrowing experience yesterday that reminded me that my fears of driving in the white stuff are basically justified.

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

