Ask And Ye Shall Receive Version 1

On my author fan page, I asked my readers/fans/groupies/homies (or whatever you want to call the amazing people who are basically the backbone to why I do what I do) if they had any burning questions for me. They did, so I have decided to write up a post answering those questions. How exciting!

“Who inspired Grayson? You said (and maybe I shouldn’t say this!) that you poured a lot of yourself into Everly. So is Grayson based on an old flame?”

Grayson is a complicated character. He ended up being, in the end, an entirely different person than those that originally inspired. I drew certain aspects of his personality from several different people I have known over the years, and yes…from an old flame or two. But the chemistry, the mannerisms, all of that started out as aspects of my husband but turned into something different. Grayson is not meant to be anybody in particular, and he didn’t turn out to be anyone in particular either. I actually poured a lot of myself into Grayson as well.

“Oh I’d love to see the writing cave!!!”

Here she is, in all her {messy} glory…
image

I share an office with the boys’ playroom. If I’m writing when the kids are up, it looks a lot like that lol.

“How old are kiddos? How do you write with kiddos?” 

My kids are 5 and 3. Writing with kids is a challenge, but it’s not impossible. They usually entertain each other or I write at night when they are in bed (or when my hubby is home).

“Favorite snack?”

My favourite (sorry, my Canadian is showing again) snack is dill pickle chips.

“If you could talk to any person who’s ever lived, who would it be and why? They have to be real, not fictional.”

I’d give anything to have another conversation with my Great Granny again. I would love for her to meet my kids. We were pen pals when I was growing up, and we always had a special bond even though we didn’t often see each other.

“What are some of your bucket list items?”

I want to travel. I want to see everywhere, but my top three places I’d love to go to right now are Ireland, England, and Iceland.

“Did you always want to write or was there some pivotal event that turned on that lightbulb?”

I have always wanted to write, or rather…I have always written. Even as a kid, I’d write “stories” out, sitting at my white desk and carefully crafting my letters on the lined binder paper. Stories about horses, adventures and best friends were my forte back then.

“How did you summon the courage to publish your first novel? I mean…you open yourself to serious criticism. And I’ve heard that some authors consider their novels to be their babies.” 

I kept saying I want to be a writer. I want to publish a book, I want to follow my dreams…but I never actually put forth the effort to do it. I let excuses get in the way. I’m too busy. My kids are too young. I don’t have the time. I don’t think I’m good enough. One day, I woke up and decided I’d had enough of the excuses. I used NaNoWriMo in 2013 to sit down and fire out a story that had been locked in my head for years. I had it edited, took some time off for a surgery, figured out how to do the whole formatting thing and slapped a cover on that bad boy and uploaded it to Smashwords, Kindle and Kobo. No looking back.

I was rather inexperienced and there was a lot of things I *should* have done but didn’t, and I’m kind of glad I didn’t. If I hadn’t uploaded it when I did, I probably would have chickened out. And yes, my novels are my babies and it does hurt my feelings when someone doesn’t like them ~ however, my books aren’t everyone’s cup of tea and I understand that. I don’t get mad about it, it’s more like a sad passing “oh…okay”. You know?

“What countries have you visited and which was your favourite?”

Aside from Canada, I’ve only been to the United States and Mexico. I would have to say Mexico is my favourite because it’s vastly different from Canada, while the US was similar. Mexico was warm and beautiful and just…wonderful. It was also a very nice vacation lol.

“Do you speak more than one language?”

Nope, I am hopeless at learning languages. I can scarcely speak English. lol

“Have you ever met anyone famous? Who?”

I met Sharon, Louis and Bram when I was a kid at Sick Kids Hospital in Toronto. I also met a famous football player there, but I couldn’t remember his name.

“Have you ever dated girls?”

No, but I’ve kissed them before haha.

“Favorite season?”

Summer, because I love the warmth and to swim and to just be outside. Camping is my favourite.

“Next direction for books?”

After I finish up with Reckless Abandon, I’ll be writing the third and final Collide book. Then I’ll be writing a novel about Jenna Burke. After Jenna’s story will come Crimson’s. (If you have read Collide and Consumed, you’ll know the characters I’m talking about).

I’m not only planning on writing about those guys though, I have several other novel outlines to do as well. But I have to finish what I’ve started first!

“Doing a signing?”

One day I hope to!

“Why do you choose to use places you’ve been in your novels?”

I like to be able to close my eyes and easily visualize the locations. I love to see every nook and cranny. It feels more real to me than just Googling a town. I may make some up in the future…one of my visions is a place unlike anywhere I’ve been before.

“Do you have a favourite brand of makeup?”

Yes, I love Kat Von D’s makeup line from Sephora.

“What are your pet peeves? Like…what pisses you off quicker than anything else?”

Matt says: “When people bug you when you’re writing”, which is very true. If the words are flowing and people are distracting me (you know, people over the age of five…like HUSBANDS for example) I get right crusty. Other things are:

1) When you ask someone if everything is okay and they say “nothing” but then post a ranty status about it on social media. Like, say it to my face when I ask you? (Also hits vaguebooking, I guess).

2) When the covers and sheets are all messed up in my blanket, or when I feel trapped and can’t get my feet out. My husband loves to torture me with this one…

3) When people say that they’re going to do something and then don’t. Or when they don’t listen to me (kids included lol).

4) Judgmental people who purposely say things that really aren’t necessary at all just to dig at others.

I could probably keep going…ha.

“Do you have any phobias?”

Spiders. Heights. Planes. Driving behind transport trucks that carry logs or other things that could smash through my windshield and kill me. Driving in the snow. Strangers.

“What book, beside any of your own, have you read the most?”

Probably the Harry Potter series. I read those books so much the spines broke.

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

