Flying

My flight for Cancun leaves Monday morning at 4am. I am heading to the hotel near the airport tomorrow night so we don’t have to travel super early in the morning. It will hurt less waking up at 5am than at 2am, I think.

This will be the first time I’ve been on a plane since I was 3 years old. Understandably, I’ve been a little nervous…and the [wonderful] people in my life have been working hard to reassure me that all will be well. Granted, there have been a couple of “words of advice” that did nothing to calm my nerves…

My favourite word of advice thus far; “Don’t leave the resort! That’s how people get murdered!”

…They meant well. (I think).

image

I am nervous, and that’s okay. It’s completely normal to feel nervous about flying in a metal cage, more or less, with a bunch of people you don’t know.

image

But I am also excited, because I’ve been dreaming of this moment forever…the moment where I get to experience seeing a whole new culture in a place that isn’t in the big old backyard of Oh Canada.

It’ll be a new experience. In anticipation of this experience, I have picked up several pens and a new notebook. I’m ready. Even if I’m absolutely terrified and my stomach is a twisted mass of nerves and anxiety.

image

My only hope (aside from safe travels and not getting my hands broken for jewelry, of course) is that I don’t end up like Kristen Wiig’s character in Bridesmaids. Getting detained and kicked off a flight doesn’t exactly sound like that “first [concious] plane trip experience” I’m excited for.

Bring it on, Cancun. Bring it on.

image

☆☆☆☆
This is [probably] the last time I’ll be blogging until I’m in Cancun (and that’s a maybe because booze. Did I mention it was an all inclusive trip?), so I wanted to remind you guys about the giveaway that I have going on from now until the 10th.

You can enter to win ecopies of my novels COLLIDE and CONSUMED. Two lucky people will win the first two novels of my Collide series featuring the sarcastic and slightly emotionally damaged protagonist Harlow Jones. 

image

COLLIDE BLURB: 
Harlow Jones has a troubled past, and a questionable future. Surrounded by death, tragedy, and intrigue, she is forced to mature long before her time. Plagued by anxiety and depression, she hides her inner turmoil with spite and sarcasm. Her thick skin is impenetrable. That is…until she becomes involved with her grade 12 English teacher.

image

RATED 4.8 Stars on Amazon:
“ I believe this author knows not only how to spin a yarn, but also how to build believable characters and situations. ” – Mr. T. Benson 
“ Harlow is a secretive protagonist that keeps the reader in suspense.  ” – Sarah

COLLIDE on Goodreads
COLLIDE on Kindle
COLLIDE on Kobo

image

CONSUMED BLURB: 
He’s tall, dark, and deliciously handsome. Not exactly what Harlow is looking for. Her heart’s still stuck on Iain Bentley. But it’s been a painful struggle since she last saw him. Two years of silence and wondering; of desperate sleepless longing. And Jax Walker is a hard man to resist. But just as she’s prepared to open herself to new love, Harlow’s whole world is thrown into a painful spiral.

image

RATED 5.0 Stars on Amazon:
” Book one ends with Harlow graduating from high school in North Bay and “Consumed” picks up with university life in Ottawa where she shares an apartment with Jenna, her best friend. Jenna is also referenced as a major character in “Collide” as well as Iain and both still share major emotional and/or physical roles in book two.
Whereas I found “Collide” to be a darker story, I did start to see the light at the end of the tunnel in “Consumed”. Both stories referenced some traumatic scenes; however, I liked that the author was still able to capture Harlow gravitating to the right person with not only her mind, but her heart as well.” – Lauren Jones

“Harlow was so relatable to me in this book that it was crazy. In a good way. Collide, was about Harlow and her relationship with her 12th grade teacher so now, in Consumed, two years later and not a sound from him, she’s in college, trying to live her life.” – Briana Pacheco

CONSUMED on Goodreads
CONSUMED on Kindle
CONSUMED on Kobo

Click here to enter the giveaway.

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Flying

  1. tierney says:

    You’re going to have an absolute blast and I’m so jealous. Mexico is my favorite place to go; the food is fantastic! Enjoy your time and don’t let nerves takes over. If you leave the resort, just be safe and smart. Something bad isn’t always bound to happen. My piece of advice? Make sure you have your sunscreen. It’s expensive at resorts and their sun is soo different than ours here in the north. Oh ya, and bring books. Beach vacations are best with a few good books. Enjoy! Take lots of pictures!

Leave a Reply

