Reflections on 2014 (aka the Obligatory New Years Post)

Today is the last day of 2014…and naturally, I am sitting here reflecting on 2014 and wondering what 2015 will bring. So many exciting things happened to me this year; like publishing my first novel, writing and publishing my second novel and completing my third novel. I earned an all expenses paid, all inclusive trip to Cancun through my Scentsy business (and I’m leaving in like four days! SQUEE!). I met a lot of new, wonderful people and experienced a lot of firsts. I started to actively speak about my struggles with mental health (as well as continued to discuss my chronic pain issues). I became more honest about who I am and what I deal with, and I started to take less crap from other people. I did a lot of things that people said I never would. I showed them, and I showed them good.

Of course…there were times of extreme stress and heartache this year as well. A mountain of worries and insecurities to overcome (many that I haven’t completely resolved), and several low points as well…but overall, it was a good year!

I am looking forward to 2015. I know it’s going to be even better than this year. I’m starting it off by going to Cancun, how could 2015 possibly suck after that?!

I don’t really have any New Years resolutions. If I choose to go on a weight-loss journey, it will be because I want to and it feels right…not because I made a New Years resolution to do so.

I do have a few goals for 2015; keep growing, and keep going. I’m going to do my best, work as hard as I possibly can, and see my successes. Too many people don’t see their successes. They see what they haven’t achieved yet, what they yearn for, what other people may have. In my darker moments, I do this as well. I don’t think about all the incredibly awesome things that I did, I focus on the things that I haven’t accomplished yet and I pout because I’ve not gotten there. But, I’m aware of this and I’m working hard to make sure that I stop doing it, because thinking that takes away from the incredible things I’ve already done; like publish two books and earn a trip.

So, in 2015, I will see my successes more. I will look less at what other people have and are doing, and I will not wish that I could have their successes because I know I can have my own, in my own time, and I am proud of my successes.

2015 will bring at least three new novels; Damaged Goods, Reckless Abandon, and the third and final Collide series novel. 2015 will also bring more time spent with family and friends and less time spent worrying about things outside of my control. Life comes but once, and too many of us let it pass by while we are busy earning a living and stressing about expenses. Obviously, it’s important to be conscious of your own financial situation, but it shouldn’t control your happiness as I’ve let it. So, I’m not going to give it that kind of control anymore.

Here’s to 2014, it was a good one. Now bring it 2015!

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Reflections on 2014 (aka the Obligatory New Years Post)

  1. charmxone2014 says:

    Good for you! This entry is very encouraging and a fantastic way to bring in the new year! Hope you enjoy your trip and keep looking at the accomplishments you’ve completed. Your success should not be measured only by comparison of others. I loved being able to get to know you this year!

Leave a Reply

