On Facebook and Instagram and Strangers

I’ve changed a lot in the past few years. I used to accept friend requests on Facebook from people I didn’t know. I didn’t think about  “Internet safety” or why I should be very careful about what I share on the Internet.

That’s all I think about now. I’ve completely cut back on sharing photos of my kids on this blog and Twitter (unless it’s a kind of faceless or completely watermarked photo, and even then…that’s rare).

This blog, my author page, my blog page and my twitter are all open to the public for obvious reasons. Marketing, sharing my content, and branding myself. But I am very careful about what I post…especially when it comes to pictures of my children or family.

Instagram and Facebook are more intimate to me. I share photos of my kids there, with family and friends…with people I’ve known for a while. But I am hesitant to add new people, unless I know them and know that they are safe.

Call me paranoid, but that’s just the way it is. And I get more paranoid and prickly about it as the years go by.

As embarrassing as this is to admit, I get really anxious when someone that I don’t know sends me a friend request out of the blue. I don’t want to hurt anyone’s feelings, or come across as a snotty asshole, but I’m not comfortable with having people I don’t know see photos of my kids and family.

So if you send me a friend request on Facebook or Instagram, and if I don’t accept it…please don’t take it personally. It’s not that I don’t want to connect with you or hear from you, it’s just that I’m trying to keep those accounts private. I will gladly correspond with people via Twitter, the public pages or email. I do truly love hearing from people!

What do you think? Do you use Facebook, Instagram and Twitter differently?

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to On Facebook and Instagram and Strangers

  1. Ruth says:

    I couldn’t agree more! My Instagram is very private. Facebook a little more broad of people I know.

Leave a Reply

