Book Talk: What Makes Collide (and Harlow Jones) Different.

It’s crazy to look back on myself three years ago. That self had dreams of becoming a published author, but had never written a novel. That self had so many excuses…not enough time, not enough resources.

Then, something changed. I woke up one morning and I asked myself, what’s really holding me back from pursuing this lifelong dream of mine?

The answer was glaringly obvious…me. I was holding me back. Not life, not circumstances, just me. All that time I spent coming up with reasons why I shouldn’t or couldn’t, when I could have been writing and just doing. Trying.

I was afraid to try because I was afraid to fall. I was holding me back.

I had to change that. I didn’t want the end of my days to arrive with the knowledge that I never went for what I wanted because I was afraid to fail.

I’m not afraid of failing anymore. I know I’ve accomplished a lot in the past year alone. I am proud of my work, proud that my female lead character represents so many voices that don’t get a chance to be heard. She is prickly, reactive, and determined to stand her ground…even if she is afraid. She suffers from depression and anxiety, but does not let it define her. She is human, she has flaws and makes mistakes but she is self aware enough to recognize it and grow from it.

My books focus on social issues. Our societies thirst for untraditional romances that borderline on abusive, the heartbreaking, terrifying fact that most people turn a blind eye to what’s happening in their own backyard because helping someone has become taboo. Nobody wants to extend that hand unless they can see what’s in it for them. Harlow Jones is different because she dives in and helps, knowing that her happiness with Iain – and her own credibility – will be at risk.

I want to take people on a ride with Collide and my upcoming new release, Consumed. I want my readers to learn and grow with Harlow. I want them to question what is right and wrong, to see that gray area and acknowledge it. I wanted them to have a female lead that they can truly relate to, and I believe they’ve gotten that out of Harlow.

I am excited about my books, and I want to share them with the world because I am passionate about what I write about. That’s why I talk about it so much, why I literally speak as if Harlow exists…because she does. She represents many strong women that I know and respect.

Three years ago, I never thought I would be where I am today — with one published book and another one about to be released. I never thought it would be possible because I never gave myself the chance to try until that fateful day I decided to stop listening to the nay-sayers (mainly myself) and just go for it.

After Consumed, there will be one more book in the Collide series. Then I will focus on my other projects.

I will continue to write about social issues and stigmas, mental health, romance and heartbreak and what it all does to the human spirit.

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

