Finally

Remember not that long ago, when I complained about writer’s block and how I hadn’t been able to make any progress with the sequel to Collide?

Well. For the last three days, I’ve been on an intense writing binge, breaking only to tend to the basic needs of myself, my children, and the dogs. (Don’t worry, Matt was also around making sure nobody suffered from neglect).

image

I’ve written 18286 words in the last three days, and today…I officially finished the novel…well, the first draft anyway.

image

Needless to say, I am exhausted. The last few days were intense and grueling, but I now have the first draft completed…and I can breath easier.

The novel is far from finished, though. It still needs to be revised, edited, and formatted. I still need to do the whole cover design thing, and come up with a marketing plan once I figure out when the release date will be.

But, I’m telling my brain to stop talking for a bit. I’m really happy with the first draft, I’m really excited to share it with everyone, but if I learned anything at all the first time, it’s that trying to rush things isn’t good. This time around, I’ll have a better game plan and schedule laid out.

The first draft is finished, and the rest will fall into place. Now, I’m going to bury my face in a pillow and eat a bunch of chocolate whilst sobbing tears of sweet relief. I did it! I finished the novel!

Guys, I even named the novel. It is no longer untitled. I will reveal the name of the novel when I have time to write up a fancy synopsis…which, well. Shit.

That’ll be fun.

image

Ryan Gosling gets it.

Anyways, the point is I did it. Go me!

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Finally

  1. Writing the synopsis is totally harder than writing the novel! Seriously, synopses are jerks. 😛

    Congratulations, babe! You rock!

Leave a Reply

