These are a few of my Favourite Things

image

Last week, Archer and I decorated the front porch. This is something I’ve wanted to do forever….but I just never got around to it. I psyched myself out each year, convincing myself that money could be better spent elsewhere. This year, I thought…why the hell not? I bought a wreath we could use next year. I bought a couple of pumpkins and a hay bale and tada! I also have some corn stocks ready to go up as well.

The kids already have their Halloween costumes, they are going as Toothless (Archer) and Hiccup (Nolan) from How to Train Your Dragon 2. I can’t wait to see them dressed up!

image

image

image

image

The dogs have been loving the cooler weather. When they aren’t snuggling up to us (or hogging the bed while I try to fold laundry), they can be found outside playing in the leaves.

I’m enjoying the cooler weather too…it’s just cool enough that walks can be more enjoyable (and less sweaty). I do love this time of the year…the crunch of leaves under my feet, the smell of decay as everything dies off…I know that sounds a little morbid, but there’s nothing like fall.

☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

I haven’t found my writing mojo just yet. I did sit down to write this morning, but naturally…all hell broke loose. The kids and the dogs started going nuts, and I got a phone call from a friend who needed to talk. I need to adjust my creative time to the evening, when there will be less distractions.

Still, I’m writing down my ideas as they come to me. It should be easy to get them out when the time comes that I am not distracted…

Thanksgiving weekend means I am thinking a lot about what I have been blessed with, what I am thankful for…no time like the present to do a thankful list:

1. I am thankful for my family and friends. I am thankful for their support and their health and their kindness. I am thankful for their love.

2. I am thankful for our home, for food in the fridge and for all the small things I tend to take for granted.

3. I am thankful for my husband, for all that he does. I am thankful for our love for each other, even when he’s driving me nuts. I am thankful for him in my life, he’s given me everything I could have ever wanted and he is my rock.

4. I am thankful for the two beautiful children we have, for the lessons they teach me in patience and kindness and being humble.

5. I am thankful for dogs…my dogs. They’re goofy, they’re loyal and loving, and they teach us that empathy and kindness is a necessity.

☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

We will be having dinner with Matt’s moms side on Monday, and just enjoying our extended weekend together…if my thigh feels better tomorrow, a family hike will definitely be happening.

I needed this weekend to refocus and rejuvenate, and so far so good!

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

