That’s So [Not] Pinterest

I often sit and wonder what it was like to be a parent before Pinterest, before the Internet. Before the tutorials on how to throw the best party, how to present every thing you do from school lunches to healthy dinner meals to your child as if they’re a major food critic that needs your approval. Are your sandwiches cute enough? Can you get every single food group into each of the all organic dinners you cook?

I have a Pinterest, and I was sucked into it long enough for it to affect me. I compared my everything to the tutorials and the creations people had on Pinterest, and when it didn’t quite look the same…I felt miserable about myself, like I was a bad parent because I couldn’t bake a decent cake. My DIY creations never looked like the ones on Pinterest. I was not crafty, I could not bake, I didn’t see the point in putting a major effort into making a 1 year old baby’s dinner look presentable when it would likely end up upside down on my kitchen floor anyway. Despite my aversion to these things, I still felt as if it would be a bad reflection on my parenting skills to not try.

I tried to do crafts with the kids, but my patience is not plentiful and the only thing we managed to create was a massive mess. (Glitter really is the herpes of the craft world).

So, I stopped going on Pinterest. And guess what I found? I embraced my “suckage”. I was doing more crafts and fun things with my kids, because I wasn’t comparing our results to what was on Pinterest. I started to have fun, and realized that my talents (or lack there of) when it came to baking and crafting were not a reflection of my skills in parenting.

I even made a homemade Batman birthday banner for Archer, and while it wouldn’t find a place on Pinterest…he loved it, and I don’t even care that it would never end up on Pinterest because the look on his face was all the validation I need.

image

His face lit right up when he woke up yesterday morning and was handed a simple bouquet of balloons, tied together with twine. There was no theme, aside from black and yellow Batman, but no specialized birthday balloons like I wanted (the party store closed at 6pm and the whole desire to have them was for the morning). He loved his simple balloons, he loved the banner, and he loved the small gift he got to open first thing in the morning.

He loved the little dance party (with Nolan and I), he loved that some of his aunts and uncles and his grandparents showed up to have dinner and cake with him.

image

He really loved his Batman cake. Like, a lot.

And I really don’t think he cared at all that I didn’t bake the cake from scratch, that it was from a grocery. In fact, I’m sure he’s thankful I didn’t attempt that – since the last few baking attempts were horrid disasters.

So, I guess what I’m trying to say here is that you can please your kids without breaking the bank and your sanity while trying to prove to the world of social media that you are Pinterest Worthy.

And you don’t always have to DIY it…especially if you really don’t care to DIY it. That’s not everyones forte and that’s completely okay.

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to That’s So [Not] Pinterest

  1. Ugh, Pinterest. It’s turned parenting into a competitive sport.

    I’m not a super-crafty person but I have to admit that I LOVE doing birthday parties for my kids, which I did pre-Pinterest and knew it didn’t matter if everything wasn’t perfect because my kids loved it anyhow.

    Now that my girls are a little older, I’ve realized something important. They don’t remember all the perfect (or imperfect) little details. Some day Archer is only going to remember that his mom loved him enough to go through the effort of making him a Batman birthday party, and that it was a GREAT BIRTHDAY. The exact details always fade away with time.

    I honestly think that so many parents are doing their children a disservice by presenting them with perfect birthday parties and perfect school lunches. Sets the bar pretty high for life down the road if you ask me. I don’t want my daughters someday disappointed because their romantic partner doesn’t go “all out” and give them a super-over-the-top birthday celebration, y’know? Life is imperfect. Sometimes we moms are doing well to be able to slap together a cheese sandwich on white bread and cram it into a baggie before the kids head out the door to school. And there’s nothing wrong with that. More parents need to embrace that, I think.

    • I completely agree with you! Parenting has become this competition of who can do it better and it’s tiresome. We need to embrace the imperfect moments and not set the bar so ridiculously high.

  2. Erika says:

    I agree with all of this, and I’m right there with you!

  3. Erika says:

    I also think the banner you made is fantastic! It looks great with the matching balloons 🙂

Leave a Reply

