Thoughts on Three

I used to be very much a “mom blog”. Every day, I would blog about my kids, my experiences parenting, and what life was like now that I’m a mom.

It’s not that I’ve shed the “mom skin”, so to speak…I am still very much a mom, I still enjoy it and am driven bonkers by my children’s need to assert independence in the most frustrating ways…but I’ve refocused this blog to be more about me. The person that isn’t just a mom. The multi-layers to my character, the things that make me tick.

So, when I sat down just now to write a blog post on my youngest child’s third birthday (which is tomorrow, by the way)…I wondered what I would say. I used to write them letters here, I used to do a year in review…but I’ll be honest, I don’t really feel like doing that at this particular moment.

I thought I would be full of insight, and I am…but not in a profound way.

The last few years have gone by both agonizingly slow and shockingly fast. There has been so many days of awesome, pure joy and bliss…but in each of those days, there has also been challenges to overcome. Some, I could have handled better, but I did the best I could at the time and I learn from every misstep.

I’m sure that this post would have been more profound, more sweet, had I had the time to sit down when I was feeling nostalgic. But alas, Archer’s last day of being two was…well…chaotic and challenging. Between trying to prep for a last minute birthday party (I’m getting worse with procrastinating), some outside drama and frustration, along with two kids who really had no desire to listen or corporate….it’s been a day.

Fun bits included playing a not-at-all fun game of “Find the Poop!”, and several other poop related incidents (potty training is fun, no?), and accomplishing nothing in terms of cleaning and decorating for the party tomorrow.

But, Archer is excited for his birthday…he is excited to be turning three.

People keep asking me how I feel about my baby turning three, and I’m not really sure how to answer that. I mean, it’s a weird question, isn’t it? How do I feel about my child aging? Blessed, of course. Many people don’t get to watch their children age. Am I sad that he’s no longer a baby? Not really. I mean, he’s a lot cooler now…not saying I didn’t enjoy those days when they were here, but these days are pretty rad too. Baby’s are cute but they take a lot of effort and energy and they sort of don’t give back. Archer can grab me a beer from the fridge, if I ask him too. (And I don’t, because we never actually have beer. I just thought that sounded better than saying “Archer can grab me grapes from the fridge”. I like grapes).

Plus he totally has the best ideas ever. He’s an instigator and game for anything. If I want a coffee, and hem and haw about it, Archer will be all like “ya mom! Get a coffee and a donut too!”

I’m glad we’re past the baby stage. I’m thankful Archer is the spirited, adventurous kid that he is. He loves life, he loves to dance and sing and play. His bright blue eyes take it all in and he reminds me and teaches me to enjoy the moment.

And so, after the last time I’ll kiss my two year old (unless he wakes up again between now and midnight), I’ll sleep easy knowing that tomorrow morning, I will get to smother my three year old in kisses.

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thoughts on Three

Leave a Reply

