Crusty McCruster

I’m feeling incredibly grumpy and agitated right now. It seems like any time I sit down to write, distractions explode from every direction making it impossible to focus.

Typically, the kids ignore me. Unless I sit down at my computer with the intent to write. Suddenly, they need me for everything. It doesn’t matter if I set them up with a delicious snack and they have full bellies, it doesn’t matter if they’ve been completely absorbed with their toys for the past hour, ignoring every attempt I make to talk to them. If I sit down at that computer, all hell breaks loose.

Which makes me frustrated, considering each time I pull myself away and engage with them in play, they start ignoring me again. They’ll ignore me until I attempt to write again.

It’s definitely an intentional act designed to drive me to the deepest recesses of insanity.

It’s definitely working.

I just want to finish the first draft of my manuscript so I can read it over and see how little sense it makes. I wonder if I’ve written “OMG JUST LET ME WRITE IN PEACE FOR ONE HOUR IS THAT TOO MUCH TO ASK?!” instead of a scene.

If I could sit down and actually focus long enough to accomplish any thing at all, I’d be able to pump out more books. I have a billion ideas floating around up here in my noggin, and little to no time to get them out and on the page (or rather, the screen).

One day…

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

