The Chaos of the Morning

I have two very rambunctious little boys and two large, high energy dogs. Mornings tend to be extremely chaotic. When my boys wake up, they are instantly ready to go. Their eyes open pretty much as their feet hit the floor, and it’s nonstop going after that point.

The mornings breed chaos in ways that make my head spin, and yet that’s when my urge to sit down and write is most prominent, when the creative juices are flowing in utter prosperity. Yet at night time when the kids are in bed and the dogs have settled slightly, when I actually have the time to write…the creative juices dribble. Unless I get lucky, but I often don’t.

I still try to fire out at least 500 words in the morning, which really isn’t a whole lot, but at least I can get out the gist of what I want to write, to elaborate upon later when the kids are asleep.

I’ve been working diligently on Collide 2. I’ve tried a different technique with this book. Collide pretty much wrote itself. I was, more or less, a “pantser”. For Collide 2, I’ve been attempting a more structured method. There were certain things that needed to be answered from the first book, and I wanted to take characters to a new level.

I have a lot of work to do, excluding the writing of book two itself. I also need to prepare for printing. I may hold off until Collide 2 is finished, then do it all in one neat go.

We’ve had nonstop crummy weather the last few days, perfect for writing with the company of a hot tea but less than ideal for parenting two littles who are definitely stir crazy and eager for some park time.

image

image

We were able to get out side yesterday for a bit, before the sun was swallowed by dark clouds and a thunderstorm rolled in. Thunderstorms make me feel creative, which tends to suck because I can’t write during them. I always turn my computer off and unplug everything. When I was a teenage, my dad’s office was struck by lightening and even though his computers were off, it fried them. My track record with computers is not good, so I don’t want to tempt fate.

What we need is an actual, blue sky, sunny day.

I’m beginning to dread winter. I’ve been feeling so off, and it’s still summer time…it’s just crappy weather summer time. Which means winter is really going to suck….

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Chaos of the Morning

  1. Try taking some vitamin D. My family and I have a history of getting blue, off or depressed during wintertime. Usually because we can’t get outside to suck up the sunshine and get the needed vitamin D.

Leave a Reply

