Separate

When I published my first book (like, you know, four days ago or whatever), one of the biggest things I worried about was what it would mean for my blog.

You see, since 2005, I have used this blog as a place to pour out bits and pieces of my heart and soul in each post. I am an incredibly emotional person. I have a lot of thoughts buzzing around in my head. I’ve always prided myself in being honest with my posts and what I was feeling. I don’t really hide, when I’m having a bad day [with depression, anxiety, parenting…whatever], I tend to write about it. I do this for numerous reasons, one of them being for myself. I enjoy it. I’m also passionate about breaking the stigma of mental illness, and being open about my struggles as a person with a mental illness is a big part of who I am. Blogging about what it’s like to life with chronic pain is also important to me. If I help even one person by sharing what I experience, then I’ve made a change…however slight. A ripple effect.

My blog has seen quite a few name changes since 2005, but when I landed on The Fevered Pen, I was determined to keep it no matter what. Now…well…now I’m considering a change, sort of.

They say it’s good to have a platform where your readers can get up to date information on your book releases (as if Facebook and Twitter weren’t enough), but I was nervous about openly connecting my blog to my writing (of books). I worried I would lose the ability to speak my truth, especially when I realized that people I interact with semi-daily would be able to read my thoughts.

You feel striped raw at this notion, exposed. It’s a liberating and yet terrifying feeling. I don’t want to lose the authentic tone, the honesty in my personal stories, out of fear of who’s reading. I don’t want to be afraid that I’ll be judged for how I handle a situation, or how I felt about a situation, or what decision lead me to where I am. But…I suppose I already am, aren’t I?

I have contemplated a name change, to J.C. Hannigan, but…I’m still not sure on that front. The Fevered Pen is still a part of who I am. The writing fever still lives on, just in more ways now.

So for now, things will remain the same…well, kind of.

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Separate

  1. Kristen says:

    I hope you know how inspired I was coming across your blog. You are real, and exactly who you are. I really respect that, and there is no judgement coming [from me] in the slightest. I really admire you, what you’ve overcome; or your outlook when you’re unable to. Sharing your opinions and personal life with the world is daunting. You’re doing it in a way I admire. PLEASE keep writing exactly what you think. Thats ‘badass’ 🙂

Leave a Reply

