An Interview with Harlow Jones

Hi and hello everyone! I thought it would be interesting to do an interview with my protagonist from Collide, Harlow Jones.

☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

Harlow sits down in the vacant arm chair across the small table of a local coffee shop. She’s drinking a triple triple coffee, and takes a moment to savor the sweet taste as she waits for me to speak.

Me: hello Harlow! How are you today?

Harlow: I’m fine, I guess.

Me: Congratulations on your first novel debute! How does it feel to have people reading your story?

Harlow: *laughing* You mean your story.

Me: I wouldn’t have a story without you! Now, I have some questions for you.

Harlow: yes?

Me: We’ll start off with some easy ones. What do you do for fun? Do you still enjoy recreational drug use?

Harlow: *snorts* I guess you could say I tapered off on that without realizing.

Me: Good good, drugs are bad and all that jazz. So what do you do for fun then?

Harlow: I’m a recluse. The whole “party lifestyle” hasn’t gone so well for me in the past, and frankly…I’m passed the age where that kind of thing appeals to me. I guess I’m a home body.

Me: How do you feel in big social situations?

Harlow: Anxious, but I deal. I don’t, like, hide from it…if that’s what you’re asking.

Me: Now tell us, are you still friends with Jenna? How is she doing?

Harlow: *smiles warmly* Yes, Jenna and I are still friends. We’ve gotten closer after everything. She’s doing alright…still processing everything. I guess we both are.

Me: How does it feel to be called a “strong leading lady”?

Harlow: *shrugs* Cool I guess. I mean, that’s one of the things about literature that always drove me nuts….females that fall for the wrong guy and just get totally absorbed in that.

Me: You feel for the wrong guy in Collide, though.

Harlow: Yes but I knew it was wrong. The problem was in that it felt right. *She pauses to sip her coffee, then looks up at me*. I’d like to think that I didn’t completely abandon who I was and what I was about.

Me: I would have to agree. You had your moments of blindness though.

Harlow: *smiles sadly* Don’t we all?

Me: Indeed. Any word from the Coopers?

Harlow: *Her expression hardens slightly* No, but I have a feeling we haven’t seen the last of them.

Me: What about Iain? Have you heard from him since…everything went down?

Harlow: No, and I don’t expect to. He hasn’t contacted me since…and I guess it wouldn’t really be wise of him to contact me.

Me: How does that make you feel?

She gently touches the silver necklace that rests on her collarbone.

Harlow: It’s complicated, and I wouldn’t want to give anything away for the sequel.

Me: So there is going to be a sequel!

Harlow: Ya…you knew that. *rolls eyes*

Me: I guess we can’t say too much on Iain or the Coopers then?

Harlow: *motions that her lips are sealed on the matter*

Me: Alright…well, how are your mom and Larry doing? Did they ever get passed what happened?

Harlow: *frowns deeply* You’ll have to wait until book 2 to figure that one out.

Me: What about Jenna and Jake?

Harlow: *shakes head, smiling.*

Me: *sighing* You’re not giving me much, are you? Well. Thanks for taking the time to talk to us today.

Harlow: No problem, thanks for having me.
☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

You can buy your copy of Collide by clicking here.

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to An Interview with Harlow Jones

  1. I can’t wait to read Collide! Harlow is awesome!

Leave a Reply

