Tripping on Words

I went to the bank yesterday. I’ve naturally been going to the bank often, as most adults do, and the bank tellers have become familiar to me. They are kind to me, they ask me about my weekend plans and seem interested in the happenings of my life. We’re super tight. This is how you know I’m a stay-at-home mom…I’m forming friendships with bank tellers in my mind that I semi-occasionally interact with.
Yesterday, I went to find out what account information I would need to get my Kobo account set up. The bank teller was one of the two I usually get. She always had a warm smile for me and chats with me like I’m an old friend (okay, so she’s just nice to me). She asked who wanted the information, just to make sure I knew who I was giving it to.

“I’m setting up Kobo to sell my book, so when someone buys it they can pay me,” I explained.

She wanted to hear more about my book. I tripped and stumbled over my answer, knowing that several other people were looking at me.

I’m proud of Collide, but the subject matter is a hard one to pitch in a polite explaination to a stranger. “Oh, it’s a New Adult novel about a teenage girl that falls in love with her teacher. But it’s not just about that, it’s about a town coverup and it’s suspenseful. I’m not creepy I swear!”

Well, it was easy enough to write out, I suppose…but it’s harder to find the proper words to explain it when I’m facing the person head on, when they’re looking at me expectantly.

I may or may not have actually said “It’s a book about, um…insert awkward subject matter here…”

Smooth and oh so captivating, am I right? Hook, line, and sinker.

I can’t be the only person, the only writer, who sucks at verbally articulating thoughts…right? I can’t be the only writer who is far from a conversationalist…right? Anybody?

I guess I need to get used to it. I guess I should practice my answer to the “What’s your book about” question in the mirror until I get it right and stop tripping over words.

Or maybe not…maybe that would be enduring. Maybe it’d be more authentic to just allow whatever wants to come out, come out?

Clearly, I’m new to this whole deal. Hopefully I’ll have a little time to practice before the interviews start rolling in.

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tripping on Words

  1. lapseofmind says:

    I’m a very social person, often told that i talk too much. I have no problem whatsoever talking to strangers and often do so just for the hell of it but, for some reason, I can never tell someone about a story of mine without making it sound horrible. I don’t know why but whenever I lay out the premise it just sounds boring. So, you’re not the only one, even social butterflies have troubles too

    • Jess says:

      This makes me feel better! I guess it makes sense, we are good at writing stories just not….talking about them lol. Mine comes from keeping my ideas secret for so long. I’m used to giving secretive responses and not discussing my work (until the first draft is done).

Leave a Reply

