Reaching Goals

I did it. I hit my monthly Scentsy PRV goal. I won’t believe that I’m going to Cancun until I close the party and see my incentive trip points fly up to where they need to be, but I did it. I’m breathing a sigh of relief.

I also wrote a book. A goal that I’ve had since I was a kid…I’ve always wanted tp write a book. I’ve tried for years, failing because I allowed distractions or insecurity get in the way…and now I’ve done it.

☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

I’m feeling nostalgic this morning. It feels absolutely incredible to be reaching goals I’ve set for myself, within my Scentsy business and with my writing.

The last, well….the duration of my adult life so far…I’ve felt like I haven’t really achieved anything. I’ve just…been existing. I’ve had all these dreams, all these plans and while some have happened (marrying my soul mate, starting a family, etc)…others have not, or hadn’t before this year anyway. Career wise…I was barren.

Being a stay-at-home-mom has been incredible and I love it, but I would be blantantly lying if I said I didn’t want a career too. It’s important to me to be independent, to help put food on the table. It’s important for me to make the things I want to happen, happen. I dislike relying on anyone else…even my husband. I would rather us achieve things together, as a team, than have him do all the hard work and supporting. I don’t know it’s so important to me…but it definitely is.

Prior to joining Scentsy, I didn’t have that fulfilling side gig to being a SAHM that brought in a cash flow. I didn’t have a “promotional ladder” to climb. I’d never gotten a promotion, for that matter. This year, I’ve been promoted twice and once at the end of last year.

I believe that achieving success in Scentsy is what helped me realize that I could actually write and publish a book. I could do whatever it is I set my mind to.

image

I’m happier than I was this time last year because of it. I still suffer from depression and anxiety, but I’m learning to believe in myself and believe that I am capable.

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

