A Little Bit Closer…

There’s a lot more to the self-publishing journey than I originally thought. I figured the hard part would be writing the book, but that was easy.

I started writing Collide in November of 2013, for NaNoWriMo. I hit 50k words by the end of November, but didn’t finish writing the book until January 2014. Then I did a month of self-editing. In May, I had a friend and editor edit the book officially, and I started to format it for e-publishing. That took a lot of time, mainly because I had no idea what I was getting myself into and wrongfully assumed it would be easy.

In June, I asked a good friend of mine to do the illustration for the cover, and she got that to me last Thursday. I love it and cannot wait to do a cover reveal. All that’s left to do now is the cover page fonts, and then I can reveal it!

This means that…I am almost there! I am almost at the finish line of the publishing aspect (which, I suppose, could be considered the start of the published aspect, the marketing and branding quest).

Now I know the timeline for self-publishing. Now I know what’s expected and I can arrange it a little better than I did the last time. I assumed it would all be easy…I assumed that writing and editing the book would be the hard part, the part that took up the most time. How naive was I! Formatting and doing up the cover has been just as time consuming, because I want it all to be as perfect as I can get it.

I’ve learned a lot, and next time around…things will go smoother. For one, I’ve learned to write in e-book format. No “smart quotations”, no indented paragraphs. It’ll save me a world of trouble when I go to get it ready for e-publishing.

I am so excited to finally publish Collide, but I’ve learned a very important lesson throughout all of this trial and errordon’t rush it. It will happen when it happensJuly is almost over, so I may want to focus on August. One thing is for certain…Collide will be published by September.

I will be doing a cover reveal within the next week or so, when everything is done on that end. I’ll also be sharing little samples from the chapters, and tomorrow…a special treat: another page from Harlow Jones’ journal! Click to read Vol 1 and Vol 2 of Harlow’s Journal.

I would just like to thank all of you for being so supportive and patient during this (really confusing) time!

 

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Little Bit Closer…

  1. tierney says:

    Loveee the name Harlow! You live and you learn though so next time will definitely be easier. Just wondering, for your next book, would you be able to get someone working on the cover just prior to you finishing/editing the novel itself? Maybe it would help accelerate the process. Only asking because I’m eager to read! Ps. Any new book suggestions for me? I just finished We Were Liars, you should look into it!!

Leave a Reply

