A General Update On All Things Life (Alternatively Titled “Brain Dump”)

Nothing like a two paragraph title to accent the fact that I am blogging before I’ve finished my morning coffee, huh?

But for real…I figured it was time to do one of those massive general life updates/brain dumps. I’m feeling “bloggy” this morning.

image

I’m missing the North already. I can’t wait to go back up. I know I said I hated living up North, but that was partly false. I hated living far away from my family and I hated living in North Bay. There was just never anything exciting in North Bay.

However, it’s a different story at the family property. A clean, beautiful lake to swim on, well maintained trails to ride the four wheelers on…there’s never a dull moment up there.

We will be going back up in August, and I can’t wait. In the mean time, I’m trying to pack our schedule full of exciting things. Picnics in the park, an upcoming visit to The Toronto Zoo, day lake trips, splash pad trips, evening hikes along hidden gem trials…

Trying being the key word here. Most often my pain days and the weather get in the way of what I want to do.

I suppose it’s good that Matt won’t be returning to Regina this month. His boss hasn’t gotten paid from their last job (don’t worry, Matt has), so he will not be returning until he’s paid…they’re saying that won’t be until September or October. It’s crappy but it’s also not crappy, because that month of him being gone was hard.

image

It’s also hard to believe that summer is halfway over. In September, Nolan will be starting senior kindergarten and Archer will be one more year closer to starting school.
Which is incredibly weird to think about….all that time I’ll have with both kids in school full-time…time to dedicate to my writing and my Scentsy business…or maybe a part-time job during the week.

Speaking of writing…I’m still stuck in a limbo with Collide. It’s so frustrating because I just want it out there. I know that it’s for the best to take my time…and it’s cool that I’ll have another work well on it’s way to getting e-published too. The creative juices for Damaged Goods are still flowing.

image

Having two dogs hasn’t really been as much as a challenge for us as I initially thought. I figured it would be difficult to adjust, but it really hasn’t been. I suppose that saying is true…if you already have one dog, another won’t tip the scales too much.

Ivy is doing much better with recall…as I mentioned in my post the other day, we had her off leash the entire time we were up North and she stuck around the crew. When she did venture off, it wasn’t far and she returned when she was called. She is getting better about not being rude around food. She was pretty much done settling down within a couple days upon coming home, now it’s like she’s been here the whole time. She amazes me.

I definitely recommend adopting a rescue dog, if you have room and the willingness to work with them.

I’ve also been thinking a lot about dreams lately. My dreams for the future, what I want out of life…

Sometimes, I want to go back to school…just to have a college education and degree under my belt. Only…I don’t know what I’d want to take. There are so many things I want to do but I don’t think any of them really require a college education. Like, I want to write and publish books…which I’m already doing. I want to have land and property to maybe foster some rescue dogs, because there’s never enough homes for them and shelter life is no life for a dog. I want to continue to grow my Scentsy business…which, again, I’m doing without a college education.

The only perk I could see is maybe having formal training for reception work (which I could admittedly already do…). More moneys more ways to reach my dreams…

Mainly, I want to buy property on the family lake. I want to either get a trailer or build a little cottage. I want to buy a house somewhere, anywhere really. I want to go on more adventures…do more things.

One day…it will happen…

(Ironically enough…I forgot to hit publish on this post. Ooops).

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A General Update On All Things Life (Alternatively Titled “Brain Dump”)

  1. S. L. says:

    Good luck with Collide! Looking forward to reading it!

  2. Here’s a coincidence: we’ve been talking about retiring (maybe) to North Bay!

    • Jess says:

      May I make a suggestion? If you wanna retire north, Parry Sound is the way to go!! Small town feel, clean water, beautiful lands. North Bay has seen a rise in crime, less jobs and the city politics are destroying small businesses that had been around for years…it’s not what it was before, that’s for sure

Leave a Reply

