Happening Lately

Guess who came home a couple days early? Last Monday, I got a message from Matt’s boss telling me they managed to change the flight arrival time from the 15th at 11:38pm to the 13th at 11:38pm.

I didn’t tell the kids that Daddy was going to be home early, because I wanted to surprise them.

Matt’s mom picked him up, and he didn’t get home until nearly 2am. I woke up to Kim’s car in the driveway, and I brought Bane downstairs and opened the door so when Bane did his protective bark, he wouldn’t wake the kids up. He barked and went all ridgeback until he realized that that the super tanned dude was the one and only Daddy! Then he did a total turn around and dived on him for cuddles while whimpering happily.

I was hoping the kids would stay asleep until morning, and then Matt would surprise them when they woke up…I figured if they knew he was home, they wouldn’t want to sleep anymore. At 5am, Nolan woke up to use the bathroom and Archer woke up with him. I was tucking Archer back into bed while Nolan was in the bathroom. I didn’t think Matt had heard them (he was sleeping), but then I heard Nolan’s surprised voice saying “Daddy?! Is it really you?!”

Matt cuddled with both boys for a couple minutes, and Archer planted a huge kiss on him before they both went back to sleep for a couple hours.

The boys (and Bane) spent pretty much the whole day attached to Matt’s side. They missed him…a lot.

We went for a long walk to and around the towns Summerfest, popped in to see my dad, then spent the rest of the day alternating from couch cuddles to playing outside.

We all had a great reunion and I am so happy that Matt is back. I can’t even express how much I missed him. The boys too!

Now it’s Father’s Day/my birthday. I’m sneaking out to the mall to do some birthday shopping and lunch with Jill at the suggestion of Matt, and then I’m hoping Matt will be able to take me out to dinner. Or make me something delicious and pasta-ish.

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in bits and pieces, blogging, challenges, cool beans, day to day stuff, emotional, family, fatherhood, fun, happenings, happiness, Matt, me, musings, parenting, perfect days, personal, photos, updates, us, verbal diarrhea, words, writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Happening Lately

  1. Gerry says:

    It’s my birthday too!

Leave a Reply

