On Competing

I suppose, in a couple ways, that it’s good to be competitive. It’s good to strive for more, to want more. It’s motivational to be competitive.

But there are good ways to be competitive, and then there are bad ways to be competitive.

If you are constantly trying to outshine everyone around you, constantly trying to prove that you are The Best, people around you won’t appreciate it. You’ll end up alone and incredibly lonely, because nobody wants to spend time with that person that clearly lives to outdo others in any and all aspects of life.

Plus…we can see through your flimsy attempts at seeking self worth. We can see that you are incredibly unhappy, and we do not envy you for all you have because your unhappiness shines through. Money doesn’t buy happiness, they say. You are an example of that.

If you want to be the best, and you want to outdo what everyone else is doing so you are the best, don’t be too disappointed when those of us who are happy and at peace with our lives don’t feel outshined or outdone by you. Each event in my life has been perfection. I wouldn’t have wanted my wedding any other way, because to me…it was perfect. I married my soul mate, a man I am still in love with to this day. My children’s births were perfection, the way I’ve done up their rooms over the years – despite not spending a lot – has been to my liking, and more importantly…their liking. The things in our life are just that…things. I take greater importance in the people and the memories we make. That’s the imprint I want to leave upon my children, not whatever new found gadget is “hot” right now.

No matter how much you purposely try to outdo me on all these moments, you can’t. You can never outshine my moments because they are mine and I am happy and I am in love with my family and my life.

I just hope, for your own good, that you will one day see and realize this…that your attempts at outdoing people won’t bother them, because your moments are separate from theirs. I do hope that you can find happiness, because I believe that everyone deserves happiness.

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in bits and pieces, blogging, challenges, family time, feelings, happenings, honesty, me, musings, personal, updates, words, writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to On Competing

  1. Such wisdom here… great post.
    I would add that “If you are constantly trying to outshine everyone around you, constantly trying to prove that you are The Best,” you will succeed at diminishing your own self-worth. Sure, there are things in all of us that could be better and that merit attention and improvement . But by striving to improve where it’s not necessary you imply that you NEED improvement. That you are “less than”.
    I enjoy your writing. You are an inspiration.

    • Jess says:

      Thank you so much Maggie! And you’re right. The things this person competes on aren’t things like “improve patience” or “be more compassionate”, so it defeats the purpose of “self improvement” since it isn’t about ones self as much as being the best and having the best

Leave a Reply

