Warmth & Light

image

It’s finally warm enough to enjoy my morning coffee outside, watching as my youngest plays in the back yard.

Not to be dramatic, but winter numbed my soul and heart…as it always does. My depression and anxiety is worse in the winter months, probably because of cabin fever and the bitter cold. Anyone who claims to enjoy every aspect of winter is blatantly lying. Sure, you might enjoy the first few snow falls, or having a white Christmas. You might enjoy ice skating, tobogganing, going out for a rip on the skidoo, skiing and snow boarding…but I highly doubt you like cleaning the snow and ice off your car seven thousand million times. I highly doubt you like all the added extras you have to do before you can go out – gearing up, shoveling your way out of your house and drive way, getting caught behind snow ploughs….it’s even more irritating when you have small children who hate the cold and hate having to wear so many layers.

I enjoy some aspects of winter, but by January, I’m ready to give those few aspects up for a little warmth and light.

The sunlight in the warmer months feeds my soul, I have a little more engery and a lot more positivity. I feel inspired, I feel alive.

Matt was gone before 8am today, so I took both the boys to Nolan’s bus stop. I used the stroller, for myself more than anything. While my heel and foot ached something fierce doing it, it was bearable because the weather was so nice. Warmer weather doesn’t ease all of my pain, but it dulls it slightly. There’s no added ache from bitter cold or dampness.

I think this is the weekend we finally start gardening. We’ve been holding out, knowing that winter would rear her ugly head with a few more storms. She did, and hopefully she got her fill because I, for one, cannot look outside and see snow once more. I need these warm days, I need the bright sunlight of spring. I need to enjoy my coffee outside while I watch my kids play.

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in anxiety, bits and pieces, bliss, blogging, chronic pain, depression, feelings, happenings, honesty, lately, life, MHE, musings, my two cents, pain, personal, updates, verbal diarrhea, words, writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Warmth & Light

  1. On man…warmth and light is so therapeutic. I feel the same way. I am so ready for spring!

Leave a Reply

