Five

My oldest son, Nolan, is five today. I worked until after he was in bed last night, and before I could fall asleep…I had to sneak into the boys room so I could kiss my four year old boy before he became a five year old boy.

It was bittersweet, kissing his soft cheek while he slept. He’s been so excited about his birthday, counting down the days until he turned five. Each morning for the past week, he would tell me how many days left until his birthday. This is the first year he’s counted down. It made me so proud, how easily he caught on.

Nolan is an old soul, a gentle soul. He is an extremely emotional child, his mood severely affected by the moods of those around them. He is me, as I was and still am. He is empathetic and caring. I am incredibly proud of the little man he is becoming. He’s not afraid to tell someone that they’ve hurt his feelings (lord knows he tells Archer a hundred times a day…heh. Brothers!)

He has taught me so much in the five years he’s been here. I’d never known love until the day I held him in my arms and looked down at his sweet little face. He’s helped me grow into the person I am today, and he’s helped me realize the person I want to be tomorrow. They say we teach our children, but I firmly believe they teach us more. The love I have for this boy, for both boys, is indescribable. I would move mountains for them both. They are my reasons for everything I do, my inspiration.

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in birthdays, blogging, celebrations, family, honesty, mama musings, motherhood, my kid is AWESOME, parenting, updates, words, YAY and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Five

  1. Gerry says:

    My oldest daughter turns 5 on Saturday and she’s already the best teacher I’ve ever had, by far. You think you know yourself until they show up and reflect you back in their eyes the way no mirror ever could.

Leave a Reply

