Stigma Fighters

It’s always been important to my dear friend Sarah to try and break the stigma around mental illness. Hell, it’s important to a lot of us, to those of us who have mental illnesses and to those of us who love someone who has a mental illness. I would also like to see the stigma erased.

When Sarah came up with the idea of Stigma Fighters, I just had to participate. As I’ve blogged about before on this blog, I have a chronic pain bone disorder called Multiple Hereditary Exostoses. I also have depression and anxiety. Unfortunately, people who have chronic pain disorders can often develop depression and anxiety. I guess I’m one of the lucky ones. Having a chronic pain disorder is a lot to deal with, so it’s no wonder that the affects would also appear in ones’ mind and way of thinking.

I’ve been dealing with MHE since I was born, but the depression and anxiety greeted me when I was a teenager and has just gotten larger and more demanding as I age. My post about having and dealing with chronic pain and depression is live on Sarah’s blog right now, so please…go have a read.

Also, if you or someone you know suffers from mental illness, please consider writing a guest post for Sarah’s Stigma Fighters series. You can talk about yourself, what you face on a day to day basis, how you deal (or don’t deal) with it, or you could talk about a beloved parent, sibling, or friend that has it. Let’s just talk about mental illness and break the stigma. People with mental illnesses are not weak, we are strong.

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in anxiety, big things, blogging, challenges, depression, guest post, words and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Stigma Fighters

  1. I love you! Thank you for sharing your brave journey. Thank you for spreading awareness about this cause. And most importantly, thank you for being a big part of my life. xoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxxo Also everyone email me at sarahfader@gmail until Monday because my other email is down. SHIT.

  2. Aussa Lorens says:

    Very cool project to get involved with, Jess.

Leave a Reply

