Mentally Constipated

I’m mentally constipated right now. I have so many ideas, but for some ridiculous reason…they just won’t come out. Not how I want them to, anyway. I feel like I have writer’s block in pretty much everything. So, essentially…there is an everything block on my mind.

image

I have many projects on my mind, many things that I want to get started. Because I have so many ideas, I’m having trouble getting any of them out. I need to purchase a new notebook. A fresh one, that I can title my idea notebook and jot down any idea that comes to mind, no matter how formed.

I’m really weird about my notebooks, though. I have so many of them, but they all serve a purpose and I can’t “divide” that purpose. I’ve yet to have an idea notebook, which seems ridiculous because the first notebook one should have is for general ideas.

(By the way, this is mental constipation. Trying to force things out when you can’t because you’re constipated.)

In addition the the block I seem to have on my writing projects and ideas, I also have a block on the general aspects of my life. I have a lot of around the house projects that I want and need to do. Purging of things we don’t need or use, cleaning the sticky baseboards and walls, preparing for Easter this weekend. Of course…I can’t seem to do any of these tasks because I can’t seem to get my motivation up.

What do you do when you lack the motivation to do the things you need to do? What do you do when you’re mentally constipated? Share with me your knowledge on these subjects…because I need an enema for my mind right now.

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in blogging, challenges, depression, exhaustion, happenings, hard stuff, honesty, musings, personal, uncensored, updates, verbal diarrhea, words, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Mentally Constipated

  1. I know this feeling exactly. UGH! It sucks right? You have so many ideas and you can’t get them out! I think you should just start writing even if you think it sucks.

  2. Paul Davis says:

    You said constipation…. hehe. I’m like 12. Really. Hope you get past it ^_^

  3. Gerry says:

    Story of my life. I can daydream forever, but once it comes time to actually get the idea out, nothing. I used to be unbelievably good at just sitting down and letting it happen. That was 20 years ago, then I got lazy and stopped writing. Now I want to get back to it and I can’t. I started blogging about 3 years ago on comics, then music, then both, then whatever. I was doing it somewhat regularly for a while thinking it would inspire me to actually write some stories that have been squatting in my mind since my 20s. But nothing. I stopped the blogging. Now I’m back to it, but this time, just the music. Maybe focusing in on one thing will help. I don’t know. And now with 2 kids and no time, it’s just impossible. Don’t even get me started on house related things that need doing.

  4. S. L. says:

    I’ve been suffering from this on and off lately. I actually do the opposite of what some others have suggested…I stop writing or thinking about it for a week or two and then go back to it with fresh eyes. (Maybe I jot down an idea or two just so I don’t forget.) But different things probably work for different people. You’ll find a way to get past this!

  5. I’ve tried to make my motto: “change one thing.” What I mean by this is that when I feel like I’m completely stuck and overwhelmed (a regular occurrence) I make a point of doing one small thing that different than what I’ve been doing. It can be REALLY SMALL. But I find that the simple act of exercising control over one small thing can free up a lot of the “stuckness” (I think I just made up a new word…)

    For example, I lately decided to take a few minutes before be to organize lunches for my daughter and I, instead of my usual approach of scrambling in the morning to figure out what to pack. It does indeed make mornings WAY less stressful.

    Sometimes the change can be totally random and seemingly unrelated to the thing you’re stuck on. One of my favourites is to make a collage out of magazine clippings. I love Julia Cameron’s book The Artist’s Way for ideas about getting creatively unstuck. She has a good website too.

  6. maurnas says:

    Oh my god, I have stacks and stacks of notebooks! So many of them are empty and I still buy more. Have you read this wonderful book ‘The 3 NBs of Julian Drew’? You should.

    • Jess says:

      Adding that to my reading list!

      I used to have a wonderful collection of notebooks…but the kids took crayons to them and they are tainted lol.

Leave a Reply

