MHE Superhero

Dealing with any kind of chronic illness is a lot like being a Superhero. With great power comes great responsibility, or something like that.

Basically, you carry the weight of your illness on your shoulders. You have to deal with life as everyone does, you have to work and go to school and do things, but you also have to push through bad (terrible) pain days and flare ups. You have to keep going even when you want to give up.

There are days when I certainly don’t think I could possibly get out of bed, let alone survive the day. Somehow, I do. Somehow, I force myself up and out. I may not do everything with a smile on my face, but I do it with grim determination. I call on to my “super strength” and resilience in the face of adversity…aka the mounting pile of house work and social engagements and work and other demands.

The enemy you fight day in and day out is your illness, your chronic pain disorder. You may not always win the battle, but you continue on in the war. You never give up. The people need you, you need you.

image

I try to be the best superhero I can be, because I am setting an example for my boys. I am showing them the pathway. I am teaching them that you can live a lifetime of excuses, always letting the bad guy take over, or you can keep the bad guy at bay.

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in bits and pieces, blogging, challenges, chronic pain, health/medical, honesty, life as I know it, MHE, motherhood, musings, pain, parenthood, personal, reality, the boys, the difficult, trial and error, uncensored, updates, us, verbal diarrhea, words and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to MHE Superhero

  1. I love this so much. You are a super hero to me. I admire your strength and tenacity in spite of everything you deal with.

  2. You are a superhero. You persevere because you have no choice – I can relate.

  3. Verlene says:

    Perfectly said! You should post one of your blog posts on http://www.momastery.com Just look up the “My Messy Beautiful Project”. It’s sort of big blog hop…and I mean big. She’s accepting entries until April 18th. You have such a great way writing about parenting or your disorder, you should share with her big audience! Love ya, Jess. You are my superhero.

  4. Pingback: A Superhero’s Secret Identity | The Fevered Pen

Leave a Reply

