Keep Going

Positivity used to be something that I never struggled with. I have been told that as a child, I was the happiest, sweetest girl around. I always had a smile on my face and a twinkle in my eye.

Since then, the reality of life has…lessened my ability to remain positive. In my years of teenager angst, I lost that ability almost completely. I was down, I was sad. I let the silliest, trivial things affect my outlook on life. Being a teenager was fun, yes?

Looking back, I probably could have handled the disappointment of unrequited love better, and I probably could have realized that my life wasn’t over if I didn’t immediately get my way.

It’s taken me many years to get back my positive outlook, and it’s hard to maintain it. Life can suck, you know? Being an adult with all these responsibilities and demands, you can’t just hide under the blankets for an entire day and fake sick like you did in high school when things got to be too much. You have to put on your big girl panties and deal with it.

If there’s one thing that I’ve learned in my (nearly) 25 years on earth, it’s that you really shouldn’t let outside forces affect your true potential and positivity. Shit is still going to suck, so why worry about it and let it ruin other aspects of your life? Money is terrible, there’s never enough of it and it can be scary not knowing if you’ll be able to pay all the bills and do all the things you need to do…but there is goodness in your life too, there is sunshine.

Don’t stop chasing your dreams when things get rough. The future isn’t secure for any of us. Just keep chugging at it. Keep going, even when it feels like you can’t anymore. Keep your chin up, dust yourself off and keep pushing. You’ll come out of the rain, and there will be sunshine.

Just don’t lay down in a puddle and accept that as your life, that’s the worst thing you could do for yourself.

Positivity isn’t about always smiling and being stupidly optimistic, it’s about knowing the good of what you do have. It’s about knowing the dark days will end. It’s about pushing through all obstacles and doing everything you can to just keep moving, because you’ll loose if you sit down in that puddle.

On my dark days, I pull sunshine from things I know make me happy. My children, my husband (most times, anyway), my dog, and the rest of my family/friends. I hold it in my hands and keep pushing.

Be thankful for the things you have, and don’t let your worries and stresses keep you from truly enjoying and appreciating them. Celebrate the goodness.

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in bits and pieces, blogging, celebrations, challenges, depression, figuring it out, good stuff, happiness, hard stuff, honesty, life lessons, musings, personal, reality, realizations, reflecting, words, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Keep Going

  1. Paul Davis says:

    Hah, 25. To be young again. As a teacher, it was great watching the middle school and high school drama. I was like, “I went through this. I get what you’re feeling now. In five years? Won’t matter. Trust me on this.” “But I love him!” “There are like ten girls I tried that line on and eight of them are married. Time to move on. Really. You’re like twelve.” Chase the rainbow ^_^

  2. This is a great reminder. Sometimes I’m overcome with the negative thoughts in my mind and I end up feeling bogged down by them. It feels great when you’re able to remain positive in spite of all the shit you’re dealing with in life.

    • Jess says:

      It’s no easy task, I have my bad days too. But I KNOW that things will get better in the sense that my attitude will adjust after one or two glasses of wine and some chocolate. πŸ˜‰

  3. tierney says:

    You should totally look up the 100 happy days project. Just something small you can do (esp since you already take so many photos!) to remind yourself of the good in each day. I just started myself. We all have those days where curling up in a ball would be easier, however, the big picture is that regardless of what were facing each day, there is always something to be grateful for! Nice post to remind us to think positively, though!

  4. Gerry says:

    There’s a military phrase I learned a couple of years ago, while reading a comic book. It’s not necessarily positive in the traditional sense, but I think it’s more realistic and in line with big girl panties: Embrace the suck. In other words, yeah, life sucks sometimes, but you just embrace it and move on. Don’t deny it sucks, because that’s usually a losing battle. Embrace the suck. Make it part of your motivation maybe. Instead of feeling sorry for yourself or worrying about whatever it is, you just grab the suck by the shoulders and take it along for the ride towards the solution. Eventually, the suck will stop sucking.

Leave a Reply

