Projects & Pain

A few days ago, I started a new novel. I took a break from the sequel to Collide because I was feeling forced, and it wasn’t flowing freely from my mind like the first one did. I think, when something feels forced like that, the best thing you can do is give it – and yourself – a little space. I don’t actually know if this is an appropriate response (I’m an amateur after all), but we’ll see how this goes.

Instead, I’ve been working on this new project, a new novel. New characters, new drama, new challenges. It’s refreshing and I’m enjoying the process of “birthing” them. I’m pretty sure I’ve selected a title (that may or may not be changed in the future).

I’m a pantser more than anything, but the general idea of the novel will likely remain the same as I write it. At least…in the sense of those characters. It will be about the two of them, and how love is complicated and messy and ugly at times. Things aren’t always in black and white. There’s a gray area, so to speak. Love isn’t always enough to heal and save…but sometimes, it is. I have no idea which ending my two main characters will get. That’s what makes it fun!

Aside from starting new writing projects, I’ve been withering in pain on the couch. The weather has been damp and rainy today, which typically means trouble for me. My heel is swollen and worse today too. I ditched the cane last week, as it was causing me more issues with my wrist than it was helping me with my heel. Plus I fell on a cardboard box and messed up my thigh.

image

This is what happens when someone with a bleeding disorder gets a bruise. Fun, huh?

And if you’re wondering how and why I fell on a cardboard box, let’s just say I’m klutzy. And my room is full of cardboard boxes right now because I have zero storage in this closetless house.

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in bits and pieces, blogging, challenges, chronic pain, happenings, musings, pain, personal, projects, words, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

