“I’m not one to judge, but…”

Every time someone says “I’m not one to judge, but…“, the next thing to fall out of their mouth is undoubtedly judgmental. We all do it. I’ve done it, before I caught myself.

image

If you’re going to make a judgmental statement, make it…but at least have the balls to acknowledge that you’re being judgmental. Don’t hide behind a false pretense of being “nonjudgmental”. You’re judgmental. We are all judgmental. That’s human nature and I don’t think there’s anything wrong with it, but there’s a big difference between being judgmental and being a judgmental twat.

I am a firm believer in circumstances and kindness. Circumstances are different for everyone, and you can acknowledge that with kindness. Understand that people have different strengths and weaknesses. Everyone handles every situation differently, and that’s okay, because every situation is different.

What I’ve personally started doing, is reprogramed myself to say “I would hope that I would [do this]“. Because the actual hard truth is….you don’t know what you would actually do. You’re not in that situation, and maybe you never will be, so you can’t say for certain. And if you did end up in that situation, your circumstances would be entirely different.

And yes, these are the things I think about at eight o’clock in the morning.

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in blogging, bullshit, lessons, musings, personal, ranting, real talk, the blah blah blah, um what?, verbal diarrhea, words and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “I’m not one to judge, but…”

  1. YES! I hate that shit. Everyone judges. It’s human, we all do it, and we should try to not be so judgmental but I think it is part of the human condition. That statement bothers me.

    • Jess says:

      It’s true. Judgment can be good, it can widen your eyes to a situation. It could change your opinion about someone for the BETTER. It’s how you present and react with your judgments.

  2. maurnas says:

    I try really hard to do this. But man, when I am in a bad mood then I think everyone is just an idiot.

Leave a Reply

