“Thumbs Up”

image

Maybe it’s just me…but the Facebook thumb tends to piss me off a little. I’m not talking about when it’s used to “like” a status update or post, I’m talking about when it’s used to reply to a personal message.

If I take the time to write a personal message to someone, and that message is a sentence or more long…I find it insulting for that person to reply with a single thumbs up. To me, it says “I’m not going to take the time to respond to you using actual words, but I still want to acknowledge your message since I read it.” It’s even more insulting when that is the first and only response from someone.

Example, someone I knew had a baby a few months ago. We were not friends on Facebook at the time, so when we became friends…I naturally sent them a personal message saying congratulations and what not. My response was the Facebook thumb. That’s it. After 5 years of not connecting, my first “interaction” was a thumb.

And don’t tell me people are busy. We’ve been over this. I’m busy too, but we can make and take the time to respond to people who have taken the time to reach out and talk to us. Facebook makes social interaction easy and almost impersonal as it is…even when you are typing out more than one sentence. Adding the thumb is just…well. Lazy. Yes, I said it.

How do you feel about “the thumb”?

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to “Thumbs Up”

  1. I personally despise the Facebook thumbs up. I think it’s offensive and stupid. I also have a conflicted feeling about just replying with smiley faces but you know how I feel about that already.

    • Jess says:

      Cat stickers. Those are always the answer. 🙂 lol.

      I hear you though. What ever happened to words like “thanks”, “ok”, “cool” or “good”?

  2. Paul Davis says:

    BAHAHAHA! I love it. I’ve used the thumb before. Usually it means I literally cannot type more than 5 seconds, but since it’s going to tell you I read it, I want to acknowledge I read it. Otherwise it means you’re way too needy, I don’t care about your issues, you’ll figure it out. That is reserved for one person alone. Or it also means my finger slipped. At times, if my finger slipped, I just let it slide like I meant to do it. Except for the time someone was telling me about her food poisoning. I felt bad for that one.

    • Jess says:

      Yes but what about “ok”? I like real words lol! And I am sensitive so I always assume it’s the second one…the person literally doesn’t care. Considering this person ONLY responded with the thumbs up, I take that as they definitely didn’t care.

      Glad you love it!

  3. maurnas says:

    I spend almost zero time on Facebook. I have no opinion about the thumb. Unless it is a real life thumbs up, which I love. It’s one of my signature moves.

Leave a Reply

