Dark

image

This is unrelated to my post, but look...I got bangs again.

I’ve always been drawn towards darkness. I used to love telling “scary” ghost stories, I used to love freaking out my friends and family members with my ability to tell a creepy [made up] story as if it had actually happened.

I think we all have a bit of darkness in us. That’s human nature. I think the most interesting people have equal measures of darkness and light in them.

I write characters in every shade. I tend to lean more towards “tough” characters, especially for my female characters. I like to write my female characters with a bit of bite and a lot of sarcasm. Mainly because I’m sarcastic and “dark”, but also because it saddens me that there isn’t a whole lot of “strong” female protagonists out there. Too many meekly sit by while terrible things happen to them in their worlds, allowing the men to take the reigns and “fix” things.

But what if they can’t be fixed? What if something (or someone) is just damaged? What if they have mastered the art of living, despite that? What if the protagonist is her own knight in shinning armor, in a way? What if she gets a different ending? What if she’s an introvert and has difficulty connecting with people? What if she puts up walls, and they half come down but not really because sometimes we can’t unbuild our shields?

Those characters, those “underdogs” that don’t fit the stereotypical heroine/hero mold are the very kind of characters that I am drawn to, that I love to write. They exist in our day to day life, and their voices matter. I want to see more characters like that in print.

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in blogging, honesty, imperfections; perfections, musings, progress report, real talk, reflecting, the writing process, uncensored, updates, words, work, work in progress, writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dark

  1. I love this! And I love the way you write dark chatacters .

  2. S. L. says:

    Same, I love underdogs in fiction. I think that’s why I love Loki’s character so much in the Thor/Avengers franchise. (Although the fact that Tom Hiddleston plays him doesn’t hurt.)

Leave a Reply

