St. Louis

When I was younger, I used to dream about traveling. I wanted to go everywhere, see all the wonders of the world.

I’m 24 years old, and aside from two trips to Florida to go to Disneyland when I was a kid, I haven’t been anywhere.

This is mainly because we simply haven’t been able to afford it. If we had the money, Matt and I would most definitely do some traveling…both with and without the kids.

I didn’t even think I’d be able to attend the Scentsy Family Reunion this year. After all, I just started my Scentsy business in October…I didn’t earn enough incentive points towards getting a free trip to St. Louis, where the Family Reunion is going to be. Prior to Matt getting that work opportunity in Regina, I just didn’t think it’d happen.

Now I have the opportunity….and frankly,  I’m a little scared.

image

I haven’t been on an airplane since I was 3 years old, and I haven’t driven across America since I was 12 years old, and my parents and sisters were with me.

I’ve never been that long without my boys, without Matt. Although…I suppose by July, I will have spent entire months without Matt, so…I guess that’s half the battle. Hell, maybe by July and maybe after playing solo mom and dad while Matt is gone working for months at a time, I’ll be ready for a break.

Then I read this post, this amazing, humbling post about anxiety and not letting it control you and your life. It’s about saying yes, even when you’re scared…even when you want to say no because it’s unfamiliar and you’re afraid, and I realized that I can’t keep saying no to feel safe. I need to step outside my comfort zone. If I don’t, anxiety wins.

Matt is adamant that I go. He knows I would like to, he wants me to have that opportunity. He backs me on it. I think he knows just how much I’ll need to go by July.

And so, I’m going to go. I’m going to do it. I have registered and…I’m going.

Saying that feels freeing, but also terrifying.

It’s freeing because I am not going to let my anxiety tell me no. It’s terrifying because it’s something I have never done before.

☆☆☆ If you love having an amazing smelling house, without the worry of soot and other toxins and the fire hazard of a flame…Scentsy is for you! Feel free to check out my Scentsy website and browse our great products!

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in anxiety, blogging, blogging with purpose, bucket list, challenges, changes, cool beans, dreams, emotional, goals, good times, growing, happenings, honesty, milestones, musings, personal, Scentsy and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to St. Louis

  1. alm383 says:

    متعك الله بالصحه والعافية في الصفر سبع فوائد

  2. I swear, we were meant to be friends. I’ve let so many opportunities pass me by, either because I didn’t have the money or was just too scared. Now I’m seriously saving to join RWA and the local Connecticut chapter so that I can go to the conference. Yet that fear is still there. Yay anxiety! But I want to join and go to the conference so bad. The camaraderie is awesome, and there are several ladies I need to meet in person!

    I hope you go to St. Louis, because you’ll have the time of your life!

    • Jess says:

      We ARE friends, friends that will one day meet…hopefully 2014 will be our year!

      I’m glad you’re going to push your anxiety aside and go for it! And I hope you have time of your life!!

  3. This is such an awesome opportunity! I’m so psyched for you. You’re gonna have a blast. I love traveling. And it’s great because it’s a tremendous networking opportunity.

  4. Sucrepants says:

    Yay! I knew you’d like that post. I needed to read it, and I thought of you. I think I’ll have to read it a few more times for a boost here and there. Anyway, I’m glad you’re going – it’ll be great. xoxo

Leave a Reply

