Better(ish)

It’s been seven days since my operation…one whole week. I’m feeling a lot better than I did in the recovery room and hospital, naturally. I’m moving around a little better, although my pain is still quite high…especially in my heel. That doesn’t stop me from trying to stay moving, though.

If I had crutches, I’d probably be okay using them at this point. But I just have a walker and a cane, so I’m using the walker as I’m not yet balanced enough or able to put enough weight on my heel.

I’m able to climb the stairs using my good foot and right knee, and go down them on my bum, as I can’t use a walker on stairs and using the cane would just not work. I’m spending more time downstairs, although I haven’t been able to do much of anything but read books and cuddle with the boys. It’s exhausting merely getting from the couch to the bathroom and from my bed to downstairs.

I’m feeling fairly conflicted about it all. I didn’t have time to process the surgery, or time to prepare for a smooth recovery. I didn’t have time to catch up on laundry and do a massive, deep clean like I wanted to. Or draw up schedules of the week for the boys. Things have been very chaotic and messy, and my OCD-like tendencies are kicking in hard core.

Nolan has also regressed with potty training again – he had a number two accident at school on Tuesday, and he’s back to putting up a massive fight and trying to hold it to the point of no return. I figured he would regress, since he did so when Matt had his accident, but it’s hard to deal with because I can’t deal with it, I can’t physically help him in anyway. I have talked to him, and maybe now that I’m getting better the regression will go away.

My stitches and staples don’t come out until some time around the 20th. On the one hand, I am definitely not looking forward to that day…but on the other hand, I can’t wait. The tugging and pulling sensation is annoying and I can’t wait to be done with it.

So, that’s what’s going on in my post surgery world.

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in blogging, challenges, chronic pain, health/medical, MHE, musings, personal, surgery, updates, verbal diarrhea, words, writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Better(ish)

Leave a Reply

