Burnt Fries

image

These are fries. As you can tell, they are very burnt fries. Not only are they [very burnt] fries, but they are a physical manifestation of the fact that nobody really listens to me.

Let me tell you a story of how the burnt fries came to be….

Last night, I was starting dinner. I wanted to make spaghetti with garlic bread, but couldn’t reach towards the back of the oven to get the fries that had fallen though the element ventalation some time before. I asked Matt to help me out.

“There are fries at the back of the oven that I can’t reach. Can you get them? I want to make garlic bread,” I asked.

“Ya sure, in a minute,” Matt, who was busy playing hot wheels tracks with the kids, said.

I went into the kitchen to continue cleaning and prepping. I called Matt and asked him to come grab the fries from the oven so I could get this cooking business started. Matt came in and started helping me, he placed the ground beef on the stove while I prepped the sauces. I turned around to see Matt carefully lining up fries on a baking sheet.

“What are you doing?” I asked.

“Putting fries in the oven like you said to…”

“Oh no, oh no no no! That is NOT what I said!” I panicked, running over to the stove to turn off the oven, which was already preheating. Of course, it was too late for the fries – they were already charred and smoking.

“I thought you wanted to make fries!” He shrugged, looking sheepish as he opened the door to air out our now smokey kitchen.

“Why would I want to make fries when I’m making spaghetti?”

“I don’t know, for the kids?” He knew his argument was pointless, so he apologized and we laughed it off, but the burnt fries (and the toys that do not remain in the playroom despite my frequent requests to the children to keep the toys in the playroom) are just indictors that nobody really listens to me.

I don’t know if it’s my voice, the pitch or whatever, that has all three of these boys blinking whenever the words come out of my mouth, at least when it’s instructions, directions and requests.

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in blogging, happenings, honesty, marriage, musings, opinions, our life, personal, um what?, updates, us, verbal diarrhea, words, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Burnt Fries

  1. lisalday111711 says:

    I too have some issue with being heard…I could tell you a million stories and it just drives me crazy…like I am just invisible….thanks for sharing your little story…at least I am not alone
    Blessings

  2. Paul Davis says:

    To yesterday: lock up the toys. My nephew was like that, but my sis-in-law locked up the toys and the deal was he could have two bins of toys out at a time, and if he wanted more he had to clean up what was out. The bins have themes like cars or puzzles, etc. As for the fries, bahahahaha. My brother would do something like that.

  3. almostakiss says:

    Jess, this is totally a GUY thing. My husband does the exact same thing. I’ll say, “Would you cut up these 2 tomatoes?” and have them sitting with a plate and knife on the counter. He’ll look at them and say, “Do you want me to cut up some tomatoes?” Most of the time I’m just used to it but sometimes it is aggravating. If the tv is on, he MIGHT reply but I can’t count on him actually knowing what I said. The fry thing is so similar to some stuff that’s happened with us, it’s almost funny. 😉

    As for the toys not staying in the playroom, I bet this will work: tell them any toys not kept in there or returned there after playing (depending on your preference) will “disappear”. They won’t have them to play with for X amount of days. Pretty soon the oldest will be telling the others to keep it in there or they’ll have nothing to play with. It seems harsh but when it affects THEM, they will make the adjustment. If that’s not hardcore enough, the toys left out “disappear” for longer. If they think they’ll NEVER see it again, it might work. Not that I believe in being all harsh but you have to have them know you’re serious. Then if you do hide some, when they are especially good or have kept the toys in the playroom, return one toy. They will see that when they listen to Mommy, they get rewarded. 🙂 I’m quite a know-it-all for not being a Mom….

    • Jess says:

      You see I’ve made so many toys disappear with the intent of doing that, but they don’t even miss them and thanks to Christmas they’ve accumulated even MORE stuff lol. My sister is starting a day care so I am going to give her all the previously diasappeared toys that they don’t miss and try it again with their FAVOURITE toys lol. If that doesn’t work, I’ll take away all toys and I’ll give them wet cloths to play with…maybe they’ll do some baseboard cleaning while they’re at it 😉

  4. Pingback: I’ll Save You – The Fevered Pen

  5. sexyduchess says:

    I know it’s off point, but I suddenly *really* want some fries…

Leave a Reply

