Stark, Raving

This was me, this morning:

image

And, quite honestly, me most days.

I’ll confess, I’m not exactly the most patient person in the world, but I’m also not the least patient. Prior to parenthood, I had a lot of patience. I popped out two kids and boom, my patience has dwindled.

Still, I’ll ask nicely about seven times before losing my cool. Seven is a good number, and it’s understandable that I would loose my shit after asking something seven times.

Lately, the battle here has been toys. Always with the toys. Both kids will dump every single one of them out, then put up the worst fight when it comes time to clean it up. It’s at the point where I dread having any toys out at all, because it’s only a matter of time before they are all out and I’m going head to head with both kids about cleaning up, my sanity ripped away by the incessive whining and crying about. All the “I don’t wanna do it. Not right now. I will later. I can’t hear you! You can’t make me!” chiseling away at my nerves.

I try to take deep breaths, I try to leave the room until I’ve calmed down but even after I’ve returned and am back to gentle talking and requesting for help and explaining WHY we need to clean up after ourselves, they immediately fight me on it.

Sigh. They’re both at testy ages, really testy ages. Every day is a contest….let’s see how long it takes mom to go ballistic. (Answer: not long).

That aside, it’s still cold out, in case you haven’t seen the mulitple status updates about it on your friends pages.

image

How am I beating cold? That’s simple, really….I’m staying inside and Nolan’s getting driven to school and picked up from school. In a warm car. So, fun.

Now, it’s time for me to start doing some work. (Writing and Scentsy wise).

Stay warm, or stay off Facebook (apparently, or so said the social media police).

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in blogging, happenings, honesty, moody, motherhood, musings, on struggles, personal, updates, verbal diarrhea, words, writing, yay me and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Stark, Raving

  1. Jess Spencer says:

    When I was a kid (maybe 5 or 6) I refused to clean up my toys…so my mom grounded me for a week and took my toys away. My room was incredibly boring for a week. I played with the table cloth on my table. For a week.

    I learned to put away my toys when mommy asked though. Your boys may be too young for a grounding but…who knows. Just a thought 🙂

    • Jess says:

      Yeah they are both a bit young, I’ve taken toys away though and will continue too! Always their favourites, like the mean hole I am haha

Leave a Reply

