Portrait of an Insane Mother

There’s something about an over the shoulder boulder holder that keeps me from feeling less unhinged.

When my kids aren’t listening, and I’ve asked them thousands of times to knock it off or pick up their toys, and when they still don’t listen and I’m reduced to having a “mommy meltdown”, I feel even more crazy if that mommy meltdown happens to occur when I’m braless.

There’s something about losing your shit with your titties flying free, it’s not liberating at all. It’s kind of depressing, actually. I’m 24 years old, I shouldn’t feel crazy when I go braless and happen to start yelling at my kids (because everyone yells at some point, even if they’re not proud of it, even if they try to deny it).

I just feel more in control with those puppies tied down, you know?

image

[via]

It’s kind of funny…those expectantions I had on motherhood were really wrong. Like I thought I’d never yell, rarely have bad days, have kids that ate everything on their plates, always know the right answer….just have my shit together.

Plus, I thought I’d be the cool mom.

image

[via]

But if there’s one thing I’ve learned about motherhood, It’s that I’m unlikely to EVER figure it out. (And I’ll also never be the cool mom).

In addition to those random musings, guess what today is?

image

Yup…it’s a snow day. Which means an additional day of the whining and crying and fighting. So much fun.

I’ve honestly not been in the best mood today. I’m irritable, I’m exhausted, and I’ve had it “up to here” with the lack of listening and the whining in this house. Tomorrow better not be a snow day

I’m probably so pissed off because it’s a snow day and I have to wear a bra to feel sane.

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in blogging, complaining, happenings, homemaker, honesty, housewifey stuff, insecurities, musings, updates, verbal diarrhea, words, writing, wtf and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Portrait of an Insane Mother

  1. Paul Davis says:

    Yeah no bras! Yep, that’s what I got out of the post.

    I’m the cool uncle. I know it’s easier, but I still do yell at my nephew. And the look on his face is pure shock. I let a lot slide, but the moment he disrespects, especially his mom (sis-in-law), I put down the law. It’s fun. But in the end, you can still be the cool mom. Wait until they’re older and not always trying to test you. Just usually trying to test you.

  2. Aussa Lorens says:

    Ha! We are all one braless day from the brink of insanity. Anytime I have extended time off of work I go sans bra for as long as possible and barely leave the house… it’s not pretty.

Leave a Reply

