Beauty and the Storybook Boarderline Abusive Relationship

image

[via]

Aussa came up with a great point yesterday when she said Beauty and the Beast is pretty much the only Disney movie we should pay attention to.

image

[via]

I mean, it’s chalk full of life lessons, really. You could be a hairy, beastly asshole and if you kidnap a pretty girl, she’ll totally fall in love with you. Stockholm Syndrome and what not.

image

[via]

But really, the important thing is he changed. He let her go home, and she came back to save him from the evil Gaston, because: love. Even though he imprisoned her, pretty much told her what to wear and do, all that was okay because he’s less of an asshole than Gaston.

image

[via]

Can we talk about Gaston for a minute, please? And how he’s equally as bad as the Beast? I mean, he’s got a temper. He’s rude and possessive, has his life with Belle all planned out down to the children and dogs.

He’s ultimately the bad guy because he didn’t like books the way Belle and Beast do.

image

[via]

Oh, and he didn’t own a massive castle. That’s also a strike.

image

[via]

image

[via]

Belle can only apparently put up with the boarderline abusive behaviour if there is a castle and massive library involved.

But really, I feel like Disney has paved the way for society’s obsession with boarderline abusive relationships. Twilight. 50 Shades of Grey. Stay with the temperamental, controlling asshole because your love will change him into a loving, kind prince. Your love will heal him, and solve all problems that arise because love.

Maybe everybody’s a little into the BDSM thing. Lock her up, control her, she’ll love you for it…eventually.

image

[via]

But if I’m being honest, I actually love Beauty and the Beast more than any other Disney movie out there. Probably because I’m just as twisted as Belle. Give me a massive library and talking house hold items and I’ll be game for your shitty moods and hairiness. Just don’t try to shave over my bathroom sink and leave it all in there for me to find, and it’ll be roses.

image

[via]

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in blogging, funny shit, just for fun, life lessons, musings, the blah blah blah, this crazy train, um what?, verbal diarrhea, words and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Beauty and the Storybook Boarderline Abusive Relationship

  1. Paul Davis says:

    So I’ve got the library. The key now to finding the love of my life is to make my household items talk and then lock her up in my apartment until she loves me or thinks I’m broken enough that it’s worth fixing me (shouldn’t be hard to do that), then “let her go” knowing full well she’ll return? I’ve got this. πŸ˜‰ Oh, and I get to dress her in sexy get ups? Yep, done. I can totally figure this Stockholm Syndrome thing out. I kid by the way.

    • Jess says:

      Haha but it’s worked for so many of them! Beast, Christian Grey, Edward Cullen (who didn’t lock her up but certainly watched her every move). Give it a whirl!

      • Paul Davis says:

        And women flock to those novels. It’s like they’re broadcasting, “Dominate me!” Well maybe I believe in gender equality. When do the men get dominated?! Could you imagine that novel? Anyway…. Nah, I’m too nice to pull it off. It’s a tragedy. I have principles and stuff. πŸ˜›

      • Jess says:

        Damn those principles lol. But don’t worry! I have no doubt that the right girl is around the corner and you won’t have to abduct her to win her love!

  2. Aussa Lorens says:

    Hahaha oh my gosh, it’s so true! Further comparisons between Beauty and The Beast and 50 Shades absolutely must be made! and Twilight! Don’t both of those guys tell their girls what to wear? And what car to drive? And all kinds of other weird controlling things?
    So brilliant, Jess. Even though I still love the movie πŸ˜‰

  3. Pingback: A Bit of a Fixer Upper | The Fevered Pen

  4. What great timing! Thanks for sharing. Good luck to you!

Leave a Reply

