So This Is Christmas

I know when I last posted, I was feeling extremely down in the dumps and mopey. Luckily, those icky feelings passed and my mood started to improve shortly after writing that.

I wasn’t exactly on my A-Game when it came to our usual Christmas Eve routine. We set out the reindeer food, read T’was The Night Before Christmas, and laid out the stockings. I forgot all about setting out milk and cookies for Santa until I’d already put the kids to bed, so I had to go get them and bring them back downstairs to do it. Archer thought I was getting him cookies and he so wasn’t impressed when I wouldn’t let him have any.

The boys slept in until 7:15, then we all got up and came downstairs. Nolan was so excited to see that Santa had come. Archer was so excited to see that there was still a half eaten cookie that Santa hadn’t gotten around to finishing.

The boys got a Jake and the Neverland Pirates Ship, an add on kit, nerf guns, and stockings full of goodies from good old Santa himself. Bane got the boys some hot wheels cars and tracks, the boys got each other books and Matt and I got them both clothes.

The boys spoiled us too…they totally surprised me by getting me a steam cleaner (which I did NOT see coming) and a wallet. They got Matt a shaving kit and a solar powered car battery charger.

Bane got a couple toys and treats, too.

Then Nana and Papa came over with more gifts and a hashbrown casserole for breakfast and we all got spoiled. I almost started crying.

image

My lovely sister-in-law to be gifted me with my favourite things ever: owl things!

image

image

image

A beautiful bracelet, a floor mat, and a keychain owl! Love them all, she’s got great taste!

The boys got so spoiled, I don’t even know where to begin. They got the Jake and the Neverland Pirates treehouse to go with the ship, tons of games and books and car activities for our trip up north. They got stockings full of goodies, play food for their kitchen, and a doctor’s kit. They were so surprised and excited about everything.

I also got spoiled…thanks to my in laws, I am now the proud owner of a Kobo Arc 7!

image

It’s honestly amazing. I totally didn’t see it coming and almost started bawling. I never thought I would ever own one of these things, ever, because I could never justify treating myself to it. They also got me a gift card for the Kobo bookstore and a super cozy blanket.

After the gift opening was done, we all had some breakfast casserole and watched the boys enjoy all their new toys. Smiles were nonstop, conversation was flowing, and that happy Christmas glow returned to me as I watched the boys in their excitement and happiness. All Nolan could talk about was how Santa had come and the reindeer had eaten their reindeer food. It’s always incredible seeing the wonderment on their faces!

When we were done breakfast, my in laws left for home and we got ready to head over to my sister’s for more Christmas festivities.

image

The Mr. and I, ready to get our Christmas on.

The boys got spoiled some more and so did everyone else. I also got another wonderful thing to add to my owl collection…

image

And my granny knitted sweater vests for each of the great grand kids. I used to have one just like it when I was a kid…it’s something we’ll keep forever and cherish always.

image

The kids had a blast playing with their cousins, I got so many great photos that I can’t wait to get developed sometime in the next 10 years.

Dinner was amazing, the company was amazing, and the whole day was just bursting with amazingness. It was…amazing.

The best parts of Christmas were far from the amazing gifts, it was getting to spend time with
family and seeing the kids in their excitement and happiness. The magic is really in the kids.

image

I hope you all had an amazing Christmas!

Our cup is overflowing right now. We are so blessed and thankful for everything, and most importantly….every one of our family and friends.

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in blogging, capturing memories, celebrations, Christmas, emotional, family, feelings, good stuff, good times, happenings, happiness, love, musings, our day, personal, photos, thankful, tidbits, togetherness, updates, words and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to So This Is Christmas

  1. Sarah says:

    Merry Christmas!! Those sweater vests are precious!!

  2. Aussa Lorens says:

    Aw, I’m so glad that the Bah Humbugs were banished and that you had a happy magical Christmas! And that the reindeer ate their food, yeah!

  3. Pingback: Group Therapy: December « HACKER. NINJA. HOOKER. SPY.

  4. sexyduchess says:

    As long as I get hashbrown casserole for Christmas morning, I’m in a happy way. I honestly think I would be content with that and a stocking full of chocolate. Cheesy potatoes and tasteless waxy coins: you complete me.

Leave a Reply

