Ways In Which I’ll Be More Prepared Next Time:

Can I confess something? I wasn’t really prepared for this ice storm. In fact, I wasn’t prepared at all. I didn’t even know it was coming. I could have easily known, had I occasionally watched the news or checked the weather, but I didn’t.

Friday morning, I decided to not do laundry. Bad decision, considering the majority of our warmer clothes (and pretty much all our socks) were dirty, so when the power went out we were even more screwed than we would have been had we had all our warm clothes.

So, here are some things I’m definitely going to do before the next major storm (or at least try to do).

1. Create an emergency kit. This kit will have matches, candles, flares, batteries upon batteries, flashlights and all that fancy jazz.

2. Stock up on essentials prior to. Food that we can eat, bottles of water, juice boxes, snacks and buy lots of charcoal and lighter fluid.

3. Buy more blankets. This whole situation alerted me to the fact that we don’t have enough blankets.

4. Buy a generator. Not a majorly huge one, just one that will run a heater or two so we could stay warm, because staying warm is important when you have wee ones.

5. Get more board games. We do NOT have enough board games!

Oh yeah, and I guess a big one would be “pay more attention to the weather”.

At 1pm on Monday, our power came back on. We rushed home to turn up the heat and do a couple loads of laundry so we would have warm clothes and socks. We kept pretty much all the lights off though, because I felt bad we were using as much hydro as we were. But a moms gotta make sure her wee ones have warm socks for their toesies! Especially when she failed to do that the first time. Ehem.

What an experience. My nerves weren’t nearly as fried as I expected them to be, and I only had one breakdown/anxiety attack. Go me!

Now, time for some ice pictures! Taken by me on Monday night.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

°°°°°°°°

Today is Christmas Eve! I can’t believe how quickly its crept up on us. We will be spending today baking cookies for Santa, doing some last minute wrapping and enjoying a quiet day in before the craziness of the holidays takes place.

Christmas morning, Matt’s mom, stepdad and brother will be coming by for a hashbrown casserole breakfast and to open gifts. After that, we are loading the kids up to head to my sister’s for Christmas dinner. We will probably get together again on boxing day, and then on the 27th we will be leaving for up North to celebrate Christmas with Matt’s family. We’ll be staying at his other brother’s cottage the first night, then a night at his dad’s. Thankfully I won’t be worrying about Bane, because he’s allowed to come with us!

I hope everyone has a wonderful, enjoyable Christmas with their families. Stay safe and be merry!

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in after, blogging, challenges, changes, Christmas, excitement, facts, family, fun stuff, happenings, honesty, keeping cozy, lists, musings, personal, phone pics, plans & such, telling stories, the blah blah blah, the difficult, updates, us, verbal diarrhea, words and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Ways In Which I’ll Be More Prepared Next Time:

  1. Aussa Lorens says:

    I’m so glad your power came back on! So so crazy…. I managed to keep mine but the boyfriend lost his in the middle of the night a few days ago… that was a late night booty call if ever I’ve had one 😉
    We should all buy generators… *sigh*

  2. Unsure "Adult" says:

    We had one power outage such certain our move–but, reading yours makes me wish I could keep stockpiling as much as I used to.

    • Jess says:

      Little bit at a time would help! That’s what I’m going to do. 🙂

      • Unsure "Adult" says:

        Exactly. That how I did it last time. Just gotta do it again. I am gonna buy a bab again though so if we get desperate, we could always cook on that & I want firewood cause we have a fireplace and could cook there.

Leave a Reply

