A Natural Diaster

Southern Ontario is experiencing an ice storm right now. It started yesterday, and got really bad last night around 11pm. We lost power at that time, while Matt and I were cozying up in bed. With no heat or fan going (for the white noise), it was so unsettingly quiet. My heart started to race along with my thoughts.

How long would the power be out? Are the boys too cold? We don’t have any emergency supplies! We don’t even have flash lights!

In addition to those worries, we could hear the cracking and creaking of tree branches weighed down with ice, and the loud crack of them breaking in neighbour’s yards.

It was difficult to fall asleep, but I finally did and woke up shivering around 4am. The temperature had dropped significantly in our old house. I crept into the boys’ room to make sure they were warm enough, then I called the hotline to see how long our power would be out. They had no time frame for our neighborhood. I fell back asleep thanks to my heater husband, and woke up at 7:15 to the boys talking.

We assessed the damage of our backyard. One tree branch had fallen down on the shed, but the shed seemed to be okay despite it.

image

image

Our power was still out so we loaded up and went to Nana and Papa’s.

The roads were icy, and branches were down on many of them.

image

Luckiky, Dolly Parton is a bad ass bitch and she drove over this obstacle like it was nothing.

image

image

We’re currently still at Nana’s, enjoying the warmth and hot coffee and visits with the whole family. Matt’s older brother is still down too, so we get some extra time with visiting with him…the kids are loving it!

I have no idea if the power is still out on our street, but Matt’s planning on taking a trek home in a bit. All I know is we are cozy and warm.

This whole situation has taught me a few things…

1. We really need a natural disaster emergency kit stat.

2. I’m really paranoid of natural disasters.

3. I am far too dependant on technology and electricity.

4. Every house should have a wood stove or fireplace for instances like this. We’re all too dependant on electricity. Wood stoves and fireplaces would help with that. .

Stay warm, friends!

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in anxiety, blogging, challenges, concerns, good times, happenings, keeping cozy, kids, musings, nature, seasons, togetherness, updates, verbal diarrhea, winter, words and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A Natural Diaster

  1. Adam Hughes says:

    you are not following me back,so I will unfollow your blog too

  2. lostlilies12 says:

    Stay warm and safe. Looks terrible out there.

  3. Aussa Lorens says:

    This is exactly our situation where I’m at as well :-/ Though I have not yet lost power… I have a flashlight but absolutely no means of heating myself– you’re right about needing a wood burning fireplace. It’s pretty scary when you think how easily we could be plunged into panic just by removing a few of the things we take for granted….
    I hope your power returns and you all stay safe on that ice!

Leave a Reply

