Soggy, Frozen Pumpkin

There was this one time, that Nolan went on a school field trip and brought home a tiny pumpkin. We put it on our front porch, and I forgot about it.

20131214-081947.jpg

Except for occasionally, when Nolan would declare in a panicked voice: “someone’s been eating my pumpkin!“, then I’d remember it and make a mental note to put it in the compost. And then I’d promptly forget about it. Probably purposely, since it was soggy and chewed on by squirrels.

We’ve gotten a few evenings and days of -20 degrees weather lately, so the soggy pumpkin is now frozen. And I still forget about it, because we never use the front door. That’s my only goal this weekend: finally move it to the compost.

I’ll probably forget again.

We’re supposed to get hit with a lot of snow this weekend. Nolan’s excited, clearly.

20131214-082346.jpg

20131214-082355.jpg

Me? Not so much…I mean, sure…snow is fun to play in but only when you’ve got proper gear. I still haven’t been able to make it to the mall yet – I spent all week worrying about my dog (I’ll explain that in a minute) instead of searching for my broken boots that my friend Jill is convinced a guy in the mall can fix. So, I’m not ready yet. You’d think, since it’s the 14th of freakin’ December, I’d get a move on it…but clearly, I’m a procrastinator.

Speaking of yesterday (more or less, maybe?), Nolan had his Christmas concert. We took some videos and photos on Kim’s fancy camera, because iPhone zoom sucks. But here’s a picture of Archer enjoying the concert:

20131214-082702.jpg

I’ll probably do another post with the photos and videos from Kim’s camera whenever I get it. But know that it was unbearably cute.

Afterwards, Matt and I ditched the kids on Kim and went Christmas shopping. We are almost done. We have about 4 or 5 more gifts to buy and then we are done.

Oh, and the dog…the reason I spent the last week worrying. He stopped eating the way he usually eats (see: like a vacuum cleaner) and wasn’t walking/moving the way he normally does. He wasn’t crazy energetic like usual.

20131214-085639.jpg

I was almost ready to take him to the vet, but the day we had our squeeze in appointment, he started to perk up. I called them and they told me to give it the weekend, that it sounded like a tweaked or pulled muscle.

So, thanks for the week long anxiety, bud.

Don’t you just love starting a blog post with one idea in mind, then it suddenly becomes something else and you’re left all confused and disoriented and then you decide…ahh fuck it. I’ll just hit submit.

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in blogging, challenges, honesty, mom life, musings, personal, updates, words and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

