Frazzled, Fried & Frenzied.

I’m not having a very good morning today. Mornings, typically, are a nightmare. The whole waking up thing doesn’t typically mesh well with my desire to not wake up, at least not as early as I need to. At least not as quickly as I need to. I’d love to have a leisurely wake up. Those are the best, when you open your eyes, stretch for a bit, kiss your spouse and cuddle, play footsies under the blankets, and finally get out of bed when you’re good and awake. Instead, my mornings feel a lot like being ripped from the womb. I’m disoriented, cold, and extremely angry at the interruption from the cozy warmth.

Some mornings, I get over that quick. Other mornings, it’s a little harder to overcome. Those are the mornings that my pain is extremely high, or that I didn’t sleep well the night before…or a mix of the two. Pain is hard to manage when you’re exhausted.

Thankfully, the husband needs to make a trip to the doctors or walk in for a prescription refill, and he’s offered to take Nolan to school. Fantastic! I won’t have to bundle both kids and wrestle with dog while we walk to the bus stop.

Lately, I’ve really been craving a getaway. A vacation of sorts, where I could have just one cozy, unhurried, leisurely wake up. Where I don’t have to jump up and get moving before my mind even registers that it’s time to wake up.

We haven’t had a vacation since our honeymoon.

I’d love to finally go to Niagara Falls for a weekend. I’d love to do some sight seeing and do a lot of sleeping in. I’ve been good this year, haven’t I Santa? Well…moderately good. Good enough to merit a vacation.

Maybe that’ll be our tax return treat this year. Maybe we’ll finally get that weekend getaway, that vacation that I’ve been craving for years now.

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in anxiety, blogging, challenges, emotional, facts, family, feelings, happenings, heaviness, honesty, iPhone posting, just thinking aloud, musings, personal, scribbles, the blah blah blah, uncensored, updates, winter, words, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Frazzled, Fried & Frenzied.

  1. Aussa Lorens says:

    You should definitely give yourself that getaway– and don’t look bad! Sounds like you need it and it’s amazing what wonders it can do for the soul just to have a break from the routine rush and madness.
    Regarding waking up: It’s 9PM and I’m pretty sure I NEVER woke up today. In fact, I have absolutely no idea what has happened in the last 13 hours… Pretty sure I was sleepwalking this whole time.

    • Jess says:

      I have a lot of days like that 😉 pretty sure today is one of them!

      And don’t worry, I will definitely be going on that trip as soon as possible!

Leave a Reply

