Tis the Season…for the flu.

When Nolan is sick, Archer is sure to follow…usually almost directly after. They both catch colds, coughs and sniffles at the same time. So, naturally…when I got a phone call from the school telling me Nolan was throwing up and to pick him up, it was only a matter of time. Archer had been complaining of a belly ache well before Nolan started throwing up. I thought he was just constipated (and that’s still likely too), but alas. The flu has hit.

Nolan came home and threw up a couple of times. Matt came home from work, showered and sat on the couch to cuddle Archer – who was still complaining of a tummy ache. Seconds later, Archer started throwing up.

And thus started the fun adventure of having two kids suffering from the flu…and oh boy what a joy the last 12 hours have been! Luckily, only Archer woke up once to vomit and we only needed to change his bedding and him once. He was deeply upset that his blanket needed to be washed, but thanks to Gravol – the complaining didn’t last.

We didn’t end up going to the dealership or calling them for that matter. It’s hard to do either when the both of you are posed in front of puking children with buckets, am I right? Hopefully they understand. I’ll call later if I get a chance.

The boys have been up since 6:30, and so far — knock on wood — nobody’s thrown up. And Archer was demanding chocolate as soon as we got downstairs…

I’m not optimistic that this no puking thing will last though, so we’ll see if they keep down their breakfast of saltine crackers and watered down juice. My fingers are crossed, because I cannot really tolerate puke. It makes me want to puke. I can handle getting shit on (literally – thanks newborn Archer) and having snot smeared all over me (again, thanks Archer – next time use a tissue) but puke? No. No thank you.

Obviously, I’m a mom. It’s my job to handle that stuff. Matt was a great help when he was home – but he’s at work now, so it’s just me here trying to be in two places at once. Luckily, Nolan has semi-good aim. Archer…not so much.

I apologize – this post may be entirely too much information. But hey, that’s my mom blogging side. Talking about puke and stuff. I’ll stop now though.

Point is, the kids are sick and Nolan’s off for the day. I’m hoping that I’ll be able to get some cleaning and writing done. But, with two sick kids…I’m not holding my breath!

Hopefully they get better quickly, and hopefully I don’t get sick. Or Matt!

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in bits and pieces, blogging, challenges, exhaustion, family, happenings, honesty, housewifey stuff, how we do, I don't really know, kids, musings, my life, odds n ends, oh hell no, parenting, personal, real talk, SAHM, sickies, the boys, updates, words and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

