500…ish

November will be coming to a close very soon, and with it…NaNoWriMo. I am 500ish words away from the 50k goal NaNoWriMo has for participates, and I’m super excited to have made it this far.

My novel is far from over – I’d say it’s about 76% done, excluding the editing and adding in I’ll likely be doing – but I’ve had such fun writing this month. I honestly didn’t think I would even get this far. My attempts the last few years have been…well, not as successful. Having two little ones at home, both quite young, doesn’t make for productive writing days. I can honestly say I’m exhausted on a good day, and typically staying up to write isn’t always possible. I crash hard.

Having one in school makes a world of difference. I have a little more time to write, during nap time and even just sitting on the couch with Archer by my side, cuddling and watching a movie. That little increase in available time has made a world of difference.

I know I’m going to make that 50k word goal by the end of November, but I know that won’t mean my novel is finished. The majority of it will be done, and I can work on finishing it in the months to come. I can set tiny goals for myself, like how I plan to be done writing the story itself by the end of December. In January, I will be editing and tweaking. Once that’s perfected, I’ll start my query letters in February.

I’m thankful for NaNoWriMo giving me the push I needed. It was a fun (yet hectic) month!

Speaking of writing projects – I’m still dedicated to the memoir, but I do feel like it’s not going to be finished for a couple of years. It’s just one of those long term goals, and while I’ve “caught up” until present time, there are still many years to come that need a place in the memoir.

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in bits and pieces, blogging, dreaming, me, motivation, musings, NaNoWriMo, on goals, personal, progress report, projects, reflecting, updates, words, work, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

