The First Snow Fall

I don’t care how much you hate winter, everybody gets a tiny bit excited waking up to the first snow fall of the year…everybody. Myself included, and I hate winter with a fiery passion.

20131127-110734.jpg

Even still, I couldn’t deny the excitement I felt when I looked out our bedroom window and saw the tree branches blanketed in snow. I couldn’t resist the glee I felt when I let the dog outside and saw the white peaceful beauty of an undisturbed back yard.

The children were more openly excited about it. The moment Nolan saw all the snow, he asked if we could go out and build a snow man. I almost said yes — almost. Then I remembered we’d woken up late (after a long night of repeated wake ups from both boys), and needed to hustle up or we’d miss Nolan’s bus.

Matt’s mom has the day off, so she picked us up so we wouldn’t have to walk — bless her soul. Snow is beautiful but snow is slippery. Despite getting a ride to the bus stop, I still managed to slip and fall on my back/butt almost as soon as I got out of the car. The soul reason I hate winter. I’m aching something fierce now after landing hard on my back and smashing my shin against the underside of Kim’s car. But thankfully, I wasn’t holding a child.

Despite that [super embarrassing and painful] incident, it was fun watching the kids all play in the snow at the bus stop. It was still scenic and beautiful, with all of the snow covered old trees.

20131127-111600.jpg

The bus came and went and I hobbled around Walmart with Kim and Archer for a bit before we came home. I let Bane out and threw snowballs at him for a bit, before I had to call it quits.

20131127-110907.jpg

20131127-110915.jpg

He loves snow as much as the kids do, so he’s deeply excited about it and constantly wants to play outside.

I, on the other hand, have had enough already. I mean, it’s beautiful to look at and I enjoy looking at it, but considering I’m constantly slipping and hurting myself already…I don’t think there’s any surprise in my distaste for actually going out in it.

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in blogging, Christmas, happenings, iPhone posting, just thoughts, musings, snow, stuff, telling stories, updates, winter, words, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

