Five Things I NEED to do Before Writing

I’m very strange when it comes to writing, always have been. I thought it would be neat to share my little pre-writing rituals with you all, in the spirit of NaNoWriMo.

Five Things I NEED to do Before Writing:

1. Clean. Obsessively.
For as long as I can remember, before I could sit down to write, I had to ensure that the space where I would be writing and anything within my vision was clean. Spotless. Neat and tidy. I could not start my writing projects if chaos surrounded me. So, before every single time I sat down to write, I’d clean. I’d tidy up, sweep and vacuum. Dust and organize. Then I could start. I have to have a tidy, organized workspace. I can’t get the creative juices flowing if my work area is messy. Once I’ve started writing, I’m pretty good at tuning out the mess the boys’ make (if I so happen to be writing when they’re awake), so for that I’m thankful. Couldn’t imagine having to stop writing just to re-clean everything. I’d be doing that every 5 seconds.

2. Make a hot beverage. I like to have a tea or a coffee while I write. It’s comforting to have a hot drink beside me, not only to pump some caffeine into my bloodstream to keep the energy flow up, but also to give me something to do during millisecond breaks where I consider what I’ve written and what happens next.

3. Sit somewhere with a view.
If I’m writing during the day (as I often do), I need to have a view. My favourite place to write is at the dining room table. The windows offer a beautiful view of the backyard. We always have tons of squirrels in the backyard, collecting food for hibernation. Sometimes, that can get distracting…but it’s also important to have somewhere you can look that isn’t a computer screen, to give your eyes a brief break, and I’d prefer the view of trees and leaves and animals to give my eyes a break.

20131112-132102.jpg

4. Have a snack on hand.
Now usually I make the poor choice of having a bag of chips or a chocolate bar on hand to munch away on when writing, but I’m trying to make healthier decisions with my snack choices. Hasn’t happened yet but I’m sure it will…one day. 😉

5. Have a notebook near by.
Sometimes when I’m writing one chapter, I’ll get a crazy idea for another chapter and I’ll need to write that down. Once the idea is penned down on paper, I can continue with the “now”.

Are you a writer? What are some things you need to do before you sit down and write?

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in blogging, me, odds n ends, personal, words, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Five Things I NEED to do Before Writing

  1. Unsure "Adult" says:

    I’ve never noticed if I do anything.

Leave a Reply

