NaNoWriMo Updates

I’m quite pleased with myself. For four years, I’ve wanted to participate in NaNoWriMo. In 2009, I did…and I hit the 50,000 word mark. But as soon as I did that, I rushed the ending and later ended up deleting the whole story because I didn’t like it.

I know. BAD Jess. Bad.

The years after that, I tried but couldn’t find the time between being a newly wed, being pregnant, and having two babies to entertain. Any time I spent away from the kids or Matt writing made me feel guilty.

This year, I’ve changed my mindset on writing. It’s not something I’m doing to escape my family (it never was, really, but thanks to mom guilt…it could easily feel that way), but a job. If I want to be a published author one day, I have to have a book to publish…don’t I?

I’ve changed my mindset about writing in general. It’s something I need to do, for my soul. I’m learning how to prioritize things. I give myself a two hour window during the week day (while Archer naps), and four hours throughout the weekend (at least, and usually on the day that Matt’s home). Sometimes after the kids are in bed, I’ll boot up the computer and write while snuggling with Matt on the couch. During those designated writing times, I sit down and I lose myself in my book. I become immersed in what’s happening.

20131109-080450.jpg

The result is beautiful. This book is practically writing itself. I’m excited for it. I still have a lot more to write, and I don’t think this is going to be a 50,000 word book. Maybe a 100,000 word book. We’ll see.

There’s a lot happening in my novel, and I’ll share a dirty little secret with you; I have no idea how to write summaries. I always feel like I’m giving away too much, and I’m perpetually scared someone will steal my ideas. But I’m going to try and give you all a little glimpse of what’s going on it.

I can certainly tell you that my main character, Harlow Jones, is pretty bad ass and deals with a lot of shit that no 17 year old should have to deal with before the timeline of the book and during, but everything just makes her that much more interesting and bad ass. She suffers from anxiety and undiagnosed depression, but she tries to hide it well because she is animate about not feeling or looking weak.

I can mention that a lot of crazy shit happens in this small little town that Harlow finds herself relocated to when her mother remarries. All towns have their dirty little cover ups, and this town is no exception to that rule. Harlow finds herself trying to piece together a case that’ll uncover those secrets and expose the criminals behind them, the towns best kept secret.

I’ll tell you her love interest is forbidden fruit, not that she gives a rats ass. She goes for what she wants, inadvertently.

And no, he’s not a sparkly vampire or buff werewolf. I think that’s a little overplayed, don’t you? But he’s sexy and smart and best of all…he’s forbidden. He is 28 years old and her 12th Grade English teacher.

That’s all the summarizing I’m going to do today – I assure you, there is a lot happening and likely, there will be even more things occurring, since things just keep happening to Harlow without my input (okay, maybe it’s with my input)…but you’re going to have to wait until it’s finished to find out!

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in big things, NaNoWriMo, updates, words, writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to NaNoWriMo Updates

  1. Jess Spencer says:

    Ooh. Can’t wait to read it missy!

  2. Charlotte M says:

    Sounds cool! πŸ™‚

  3. Wow! That sounds intriguing! I want to read it.

  4. I adore the name Harlow.

    Way to go on passing 30K! I’m coming to get you, though… I just hit 5K! πŸ˜‰

  5. Soroya says:

    Sounds great! I can’t wait to read it πŸ™‚

  6. Pingback: Cast of Characters | The Fevered Pen

Leave a Reply

