The Fleetingness

20131108-093535.jpg

I love autumn. I love layering up my clothes, wearing cozy boots, and stepping on crisp leaves on the pavement…the sweet scent of decay filling my nostrils.

But autumn is too fleeting. It’s over before it even really has a chance to begin.

Between being sick and my wisdom teeth, I’ve been feeling too crappy to actually do any of the fun fall things I had planned on doing. Apple picking, pumpkin patches, fall hikes. We haven’t done any of that, and I sense that it’s almost too late. I’m going to try to jam in a bunch of those activities this weekend, but I’m not confident.

Winter will hit soon, and when it does…it will hit hard. I’m dreading that. I dread going anywhere in the winter months. I’m looking forward to cozy blankets and hot chocolate, Christmas lights and Christmas excitement…but the cabin fever and pain is not so exciting to look forward to.

Cue the moping – stay a while longer, autumn.

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in blogging, chronic pain, complaining, what nots, words, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Fleetingness

  1. i hear ya, fall has been over for over a week now here. its very cold. its sad its such a short season, since your right it is one that is very nice.

Leave a Reply

